Djaj Fil Forn (Roast Chicken with Lemon and Garlic)-Saturday, June 13, 2009


Djaj Fil Forn is a Middle Eastern dish. I am half Pakistani and was given ‘The New Book of Middle Eastern Food’ By Claudia Roden for Christmas a while ago from a dear friend.

I love the information it gives and I think it is useful to understand the meanings of words and culture if possible.

What I did: I only used two chicken breasts since my husband and I could not possibly eat a whole chicken though we left the other measurements alone.

Serves 4
Djaj is the Arabic word for chicken; ferakh is an Egyptian term. This is an simple Egyptian way of cooking chickens.

A 3.5 to 4 pound chicken
2 tablespoons mild extra-virgin olive oil
juice of 1/2 lemon
salt and pepper
2 cloves of garlic, crushed

Rub the chiken with a mixture of olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, and garlic. Put it breast side down in a roasting pan in a preheated 350 degree oven, so that the fat runs down and prevents the breast from drying out.

Roast for 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours, until well browned, turning the chicken breast side up about midway through. Test for doneness by cutting into a thigh with a pointed knife. The juices should run clear, not pink.

My husband and I found it tangy and delicious. I steamed some peas and it added a sweet balance to the chicken.

Enjoy
Mrs M

(Roast Chicken with Lemon and Garlic)
(Roast Chicken with Lemon and Garlic)
Leave a Reply

