Gigantic peanut butter cookies-Friday, June 12, 2009


From Better homes and gardens New Cook Book 10th edition

Well this is the first time for me to bake cookies in my new home! Peanut butter cookies are my husbands favorite so I decided to make them.

My husband and I both loved these cookies. In fact I only ate a few and my resident cookie monster ate the rest :).

They are just like any other peanut butter cookie recipe but here is the one I used out of better homes and gardens.

What I changed: I put crunchy peanut butter, vanilla extract, dark brown sugar, and butter instead of margarine. I did not chill the dough. I simply used a table spoon and fork to place it on the baking sheet and left enough room between the cookies so that when they baked they would not merge.

1/2 cup butter or margarine
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup of sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla sugar

In a mixing bowl beat margarine an dpeanut butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add 1/2 cup of flour, the sugars, egg, baking soda, baking powder, and vanilla. Beat till thoroughly combined. Beat in remaining flour. If necessary, cover and chill dough till easy to handle.

Shape dough into 1 inch balls. If desired, roll in additional sugar. Place 2 inches apart on an un-greased cookie sheet. Flatten by crisscrossing with the lines of the fork.

Bake 375 oven for 7 to 9 min or till bottoms are lightly browned. Cool cookies on a wire rack. Makes about 36 cookies.

Side note by me(unless you make them gigantic then it makes about 18-20 cookies)

Gigantic peanut butter cookies my husbands favorite
Gigantic peanut butter cookies my husbands favorite
Leave a Reply

