Homemade Ravioli with a few twists and innovations!-Saturday, July 11, 2009


I took this basic recipe below and changed quite a bit. One I do not have a pasta machine. I also do not have a cooking brush nor do I have cookie cutters. Even though I did not have a lot of the equipment it calls for I was able to do it in my own way.

ps. this is my dog, Nina Marie, staring at me because she wants some of the food..!

Homemade Ravioli with Ricotta Cheese Filling
Recipe courtesy Teresa DeSanctis
Prep Time: 30 min
Inactive Prep Time: 30 min
Cook Time: 15 min
Level: Intermediate Serves:4 servings

Ingredients
Ravioli Dough:

* 4 eggs, plus 2 eggs, beaten, for egg wash
* 3 cups all-purpose flour, plus additional for dusting
* 1/2 cup water
* Ricotta Cheese Filling, recipe follows

What I did: I halved this recipe.

Directions

In an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook, add eggs, 1 at a time, and mix. Continue mixing and add all the flour and water; continue mixing until it forms a ball. Sprinkle some flour on work surface, and knead the dough until elastic and smooth. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and let it rest for about 30 minutes to allow the gluten to relax.

What I did: I do not have any electric mixers! So I had the great opprotunity of hand mixing it my self.

Cut the ball of dough in half, cover and reserve the dough you are not immediately using to prevent it from drying out. Dust the counter and dough with flour. Form the dough into a rectangle and roll it through the pasta machine, 2 or 3 times, at its widest setting. Guide the sheet of dough with the palm of your hand as it emerges from the rollers. Reduce the setting and crank the dough through again, 2 or 3 times. Continue until the machine is at its narrowest setting. The dough should be paper-thin, about 1/8-inch thick.

What I did: I used a rolling pin and rolled out the dough in a circle. I had to sprinkle flour on my work space multiple times. I also flipped over the dough and turned the dough every so often so that I was not working on one area to much.

Dust the counter and dough with flour, and lay out the long sheet of pasta. Brush the top surface of dough with egg wash. Drop 1 tablespoon of cooled filling about 2 inches apart on half the sheet of pasta. Fold the unfilled half over the filling. With an espresso cup or finger, gently press out air pockets around each mound of filling and form a seal. Use a crimper to cut each pillow into squares. Check to make sure the crimped edges are well sealed before cooking. If making ravioli in advance, dust with cornmeal to prevent them from sticking.

What I did: I used a glass and put the rim on the dough and pushed down to create a round piece of dough then I set it aside and continued till I had no more dough to work with. The I would ball the excess dough and start to work with it until it was in a thin flat sheet and then I would cut out more round pieces of dough.

Cook the ravioli in plenty of boiling water for 10 to 15 minutes. Ravioli will float to the top when cooked so be careful not to overcrowd the pot. Lift the ravioli from water with a large strainer or slotted spoon. Plate the pasta, top with your favorite pasta sauce and grated cheese before serving.

What I did: Instead I sprayed a cookie sheet with Crisco oil with butter. Then I placed the ravioli on the pan with enough space between them. I then melted 2-3 tablespoons of butter and brushed the tops of it with butter. I baked it at 350 degrees and I kept an eye on it. I also flipped them once they looked like they were mostly cooked. Once they started to brown I let them stay in for 2-3 minuets and then I pulled the pan out and let it sit while I cooked the vegetables and heated up the marinara sauce.

Once I put the ravioli on the plate I poured the hot marinara sauce on the pasta and then put some Parmesan on top.

This recipe was provided by professional chefs and has been scaled down from a bulk recipe provided by a restaurant. The FN chefs have not tested this recipe, in the proportions indicated, and therefore, we cannot make any representation as to the results.

Ricotta Cheese Filling:
1 cup ricotta cheese, well drained
1 egg
Salt and pepper
In a mixing bowl, thoroughly combine all ingredients. Chill in the refrigerator a few minutes to firm up the filling.

What I did: I used 1 cup of ricotta cheese, 1 cup of Mozzarella cheese, and 1/4 cup of Parmesan. I also minced up one clove of garlic, and added Italian seasonings to the filling.

Here is the final picture! Voila and I hope you enjoy this twist on a simple pasta. I must say I love baked ravioli alot more than boiled. My husband and I enjoyed this meal very much. The wonderful fruit salad was made by my MIL and we had it for dessert.

In this photo the three cheese ravioli topped with marinara sauce and parmsean. Sweet steamed peas and perogi’s (onion and potato).

3 thoughts on “Homemade Ravioli with a few twists and innovations!-Saturday, July 11, 2009”

  1. *tummy grumbles* Darn it! Now I’m hungry again! Grrr… Thanks a lot, Mrs. Moore! *grin* Do I spy pirogies, too?

Leave a Reply

