My first from scratch cake- Lemon Cake


This is the first time I have made a cake from scratch. I found a simple lemon cake recipe in my cake decorating book called “Cake Decorating for the first time” by Jaynie Maxfield. I will need more practice with icing and frosting a cake but I am sure that comes with time. We will be having the cake for dessert after dinner which is cooking in the crock pot! The batter and icing at the least taste good and I can not wait to have a slice of the cake tonight!

I did however come across some issues. First of all when I was beating the egg whites they barley stiffened up and so I just added the sugar out of frustration.  Then the meringue never formed as I whisked the egg whites and sugar. I do not have a mixer of any kind so I was beating the egg whites with a wire whisk by hand.

Also the icing recipe came out well but I wanted to get a fluffy icing and ended up with more of a glaze. I am not sure why that happened but since it is my first cake I am not going to worry about it.

Instead of using lemon extract, used 1/2 of actual lemon juice.  My oven took about 25 more minutes to bake the cake completely through but its because I have a brand new oven and it is propane.

Lemon Cake

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup shortening

3/4 cup milk

3 egg whites

1/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon lemon extract

Making and baking

1. sift together the first four ingredients. Place in mixer. Add shortening and milk. Mix well

2. Beat egg whites until stiff. Add 1/4 cup of sugar and beat until meringue forms.

3. Fold meringue into batter, gently beating in an over and under manner.

4. Add extract. Mix well.

5. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until done. Using thin endged knife, test center of cake. Remove cake from oven when knife comes out clean.

Lemon cake baking
Lemon cake baking
Lemon cake baked
Lemon cake baked
Lemon cake with Icing
Lemon cake with Icing

The icing I used was off a website: http://www.homemade-dessert-recipes.com/icing-recipes.html

I also added the zest from the 1/2 of lemon I used in the cake.

Easy Vanilla Icing Recipe

3 tablespoons butter, 1-1/2 cups icing sugar, 1-1/2 tablespoons milk, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla; beat. [Add enough confectioner’s sugar to make of right consistency to spread.]

Update: This cake was delisious! The cake was soft and moist. It had a slight lemon flavor to it. The icing was good and light.  I truly enjoyed eating this cake and look forward to eating it the rest of this month!

Leave a Reply

