Black Berry scones


My husband and I went black berry picking today on our land. I took Nina with me in the back yard while Brian picked black berries in the front. Nina got tired of wading through grass that was taller than she was. I happened to look up and could not see any moving grass…. which made me panic a little. I started calling for her and I happened to look at the back porch…well well well look who decided that she was too lazy to do anything.. she sat there as if she was the queen of Sheba supervising my berry picking. 🙂

Later on when Brian went with me in the back, because I was too afraid due to wasps and bees, to pick berries on my own. I could not find Nina again… which made me worry. Brian stayed to pick berries and I opted to find Nina and go stay inside. Nina of course was waiting at the front door to be let in. Smart dog.

We picked a whole container full and was able to fill up a zip-lock bag full of black berries. I thought now would be a great time to try the black berry scones. I did not use butter milk since I did not have any, instead I use whole milk. I used butter to put on top of the scones before putting the sugar on top which worked out perfectly. I also halved this recipe because I didnt want them to go to waste since we dont eat a whole lot of sweets.

These scones tasted great. They were not too sweet or too buttery.

I found this recipe on the internet and there is a link to it if you click on the title.

Black Berry Scones

    • 3 cups all purpose flour
    • 2 tablespoons baking powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1-1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar
    • 2 sticks ice cold butter cut into small chunks
    • 2 cups buttermilk
    • 1 cup fresh blackberries sweetened

Directions

    • Preheat oven to 400.
    • Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and sugar and mix thoroughly.
    • Cut butter into dry mixture with a pastry blender until mixture resembles meal.
    • Chill 10 minutes then add blackberries and mix well until blackberries are coated well with flour.
    • Add buttermilk a little at a time mixing until all ingredients are moistened and forms dough.
    • Gather into a ball and knead 15 times on a flour covered board or table.
    • Roll out dough to 1” thickness then cut out scones with a floured heart shaped biscuit cutter.
    • Black berry scones 1

    Black berry scones 2

    • Place on an ungreased baking sheet close together but not touching.
    • Brush tops with buttermilk and sprinkle with sugar then bake 20 minutes or until golden brown.
    • Black berry scones 3
    • Serve hot with blackberry jam.
    • Black berry scones 4
    • Black berry scones 5
Leave a Reply

