Apple Cake


I have had a sweet tooth lately and I am not sure why. I was sitting in bed last night trying to think of something to bake. Apple cake sounded really good and so I pulled out what I thought I would need.

Ingredients

1/2 c shortening

2 tbs butter

1 1/4 cup sugar

4 egg whites

3 c rising flour

1 c milk

1/2 tsp cinnomon

*have a tbs of powdered sugar aside for sprinkling on top of the cake

* Keep a little bit of syrup if you are using canned apples, my mother in law and I canned 7 jars of apples, or you can use 2 wealthy apples cored and sliced.

Grease two cake pans of your own choice

Cream the shortening, butter and sugar.Add one egg white at a time and blend completely before adding the next. Add the milk alternately with the flour until it is incorporated. If it is too thick add some apple syrup / or a little more milk depending on what you have. Sprinkle Cinnamon in to the batter and mix.  Add the apples and gently fold them in to the batter.

Apple cake Mix (2)

Pour the batter in to the two greased pans and fill them half way full.

Apple cake Pan (3)

Bake the cake at 350 for 25 min (if you have a propane oven) other wise just keep an eye on it. Once it is baked let it cool.

Apple cake Baked (4)Once it has cooled to a warm temperature sprinkle powdered sugar on top.

Apple cake Close up of Baked (5)

This was a quick, light yet filling, and a delicious dessert! It reminded me of Apple pie but with out the trouble of the crust! I hope you enjoy this as much as I have!

Leave a Reply

