Blue Berry Muffins


I dont know why but I have been baking up a storm this month. First I made 30+ sugar cookies with royal icing and then I made an apple cake! I have a huge sweet tooth and my husband blames it on the fall 🙂 I think I will too! These muffins are great! I did substitute milk instead of yogurt. My husband and I would rather have yogurt with our muffins rather than in it. I also greased the pans with shortening because I did not have enough muffin tins. Here are some photos!

Baked muffins
Baked muffins
Blue berry muffins up close!
Blue berry muffins up close!

Blue berry Muffins

  • 12 1/2 ounces cake flour (ps its 1 1/2 cups and 1/16th cup of flour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • Heavy pinch salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries
  • Vegetable spray, for the muffin tins

Directions

Preheat oven to 380 degrees F.

In a large bowl sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt and set aside.

In another large bowl, whisk together the sugar, oil, egg and yogurt. Add the dry ingredients reserving 1 tablespoon of the dry ingredients and toss with the blueberries. Stir mixture for a count of 10. Add 1 cup blueberries to mixture and stir 3 more times. Reserve the 1/2 cup of blueberries.

Using a #20 ice cream scoop, add the mixture to greased muffin pans. Sprinkle the remaining 1/2 cup of berries on top of muffins and press down lightly. Place into the oven and increase the temperature to 400 degrees. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, rotating pan halfway through. Remove from oven and turn out, upside down on tea towel to cool completely. Serve immediately or store in airtight container for 2 to 3 days.

Blue berry muffin mountain.. yum
Blue berry muffin mountain.. yum
Leave a Reply

