Let them Bake Cake


I had my mother in law and step father over for dinner :).

My step father in law brought over pussy willows.

We had pork roast with squash and apples, butter milk biscuits, and a seven layer salad (My mother in law made the salad and it was AWESOME!)



This is Missy on the left, and on the left Gizmo is irritating Missy :).

We had for dessert Key Lime Angel Food cake. The frosting did not come out pretty on the cake until it hardened. Though for the first time I got the egg whites and everything correct. I think it just needed time to sit and harden. Which at the end of the day my patience had left me at that point. I had started cooking at 9 am. I make the cake, then the biscuits, and then finally I cooked the roast. My mother in law helped me with the frosting which was great!!!

Key Lime Angel Food Cake

Recipe by Donna Schwan

Cake

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 cup cake flour

1 1/2 cups egg whites

1 1/2 t cream of tartar

1/2 t salt

1 T Key lime juice

Sift together 3/4 c of the sugar and the flour three times, and set aside. Beat egg whites util frothy, then add salt and cream of tartar. Beat until it stands in peaks. Add the remaining 3/4 c of sugar, about 3 tablespoons at a time, beating well with mixer each time after adding the sugar. Lightly fold in the sugar-flour mixture, adding about 1/2 c at a time. Add key lime juice. Bake in un-greased tube pan at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes. Cool. (I greased the pan)

Filling and frosting

2 eggs

2 egg yolks

1/2 c plus 3 T sugar divided

6 T key lime juice

2 t grated key lime peal

1/2 cup cold butter cubed

1 c whipping cream

1/2 t vanilla

1 c flaked coconut , toasted

In double boiler, beat eggs and yolks. Stir in 1/2 c sugar, key lime juice and peel. Whisk in butter. Cook until thick. Strain, refrigerate until cold. In bowl, beat cream and vanilla until  stiff. Beat in remaining sugar. Fold in lime mixture.  Horizontally split cake in 3 layers with a long serrated knife. Put some filling between each layer and then spread tops and sides iwth remaining frosting. Sprinkle with coconut.

This cake was fabulous !! I think I needed to cook the egg, sugar, lime mixture a little longer in the double boiler system but I was afraid of the eggs cooking too much. The angel food cake is light and airy and the frosting is wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

