And you thought you had too many clothes…


A few weeks ago I went through all of my clothes… every single bucket, container, draw, and box. You think I am exaggerating … well I am not. I have been given a lot of clothes over the years. Recently I have found that I am not fitting in to some of my clothes as well as I would have like too. I know there is no way I will ever be the weight I was in High School nor do I ever want to be that skinny again. Though I have a tiny problem… I just could not seem to let go of these clothes.

How I sorted all the clothes were

Pants (slacks, jeans, Capris,)

Shorts (long shorts, Medium, short)

Skirts (mini, to the knee, long)

Tops (Casual, dressy, tank, spagetti strap, turtle, Long sleeve, short sleeve, 3/4 sleeve, etc)

Miss (clothes I could use for gardening, walking on my property, painting and doing house work etc)

Drum roll…. here is the before…

Here is the after

Now most of you are thinking WOW!!! That is a lot of clothes… and I must admit I am not lacking in the tops area. However I am lacking in the jean area. I only have three pairs of jeans I can wear in public. I have one pair that are very holey but I usually wear that pair around the house.

The whole reason for going through my clothes was

1. What do I need

answer: Jeans , slacks, and work wear

2. To get rid of anything that screams kids or that would be tossed out on what not to wear

answer: though unwilling at first I was able to get rid of most of my kid/teenage cloths.

3. so I could organize everything and be able to find it!!

With the the help of my unwilling victim ie my husband I was able to accomplish this. I would hold up a garment he would say either kid, donate, sell, or keep. It took me a few weeks to be able to get to a point where I could give away / sell the items that were not age appropriate for myself. Why? Because the clothes are still usable… or Ive gotten them from someone or I have bought said item and I see $$ signs.

I tried to sell my clothes to Platos closet but they only wanted a wallet. While I was there I bought 2 pairs of jeans and two tops for a total of 26.52 … and the best part the jeans are comfortable and easy to move around in. The tops are nice and I can wear them at work.

Leave a Reply

