Gyros


I have come down with something and so I am not feeling all that well. I have swollen tonsils, scratchy throat, headache among other symptoms. I was able to finish an outline for a paper due later this coming week and put away some clean dishes before feeling like I have been run over. I am on antibiotics and I hope that it clears it up quickly.

My husband and I have had this recipe book marked for months. It comes from the cook book ‘Cooking Light – the essential dinner tonight cook book’.

The only other Greek type food I have tried I did not like. This dish however is filling and has a variety of different textures. It is sweet and has a kick because of the red onions. My favorite ingredients are the cucumber and yogurt. If my throat did not feel like sand paper I would probably eat the rest of the left overs from earlier this week.

We did not make the salad and or dessert but perhaps next time we will.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I have.

Menu:

Gyros

Mediterranean salad

Fresh peaches with vanilla yogurt and honey

Gyros

“A Greek specialty, gyros are traditionally made from spiced, split roasted lamb…. The yogurt dressing is a variation on traditional tzatziki.”

Loves:

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon dried oregano

2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 garlic cloves minced

6 ounces ground lamb

6 ounces ground sirloin

Cooking spray

1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper

Sauce:

1 cup shredded peeled cucumber

1/4 cup vertically sliced red onion

1 tablespoon chopped fresh mint

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

1 (8 ounces) carton plain fat free yogurt

Remaining Ingredient:

4 pocket-less pitas

1. Preheat broiler.

2. To prepare loves, combine first 8 ingredients. Divide mixture in half, forming each half into a 6 by 3 inch loaf. Place loaves on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray; broil 7 minutes on each side or until done.

3. sprinkle loaves with red pepper. Cut each loaf crosswise into 1/8 inch slices.

4. To prepare sauce, place cucumber and onion on several of heavy duty paper towels. Cover with additional towels; let stand 5 minutes.

5. Combine cucumber mixture, mint, and next 5 ingredients. Divide meat slices evenly among pitas; top each serving with about 1/4 cup sauce. Yeild: 4 servings.

2 thoughts on “Gyros”

Leave a Reply

