Chipotle chicken and Tomato Soup


I believe in the saying that many hands make light work. It was a lot of fun to cook and bake with Jenna.

My niece Jenna and I made dinner and Triple chocolate biscotti which I will write about next. I forgot to soak the beans over night which was frustrating and so my wonderful husband went to the store and bought a can of beans for us to use. Hopefully I will remember to soak the beans next time before hand.

We started with the salad. Jenna made the dressing and helped peel the oranges. I cut up the Jicama and the red onion.

For the soup we both cut up the chicken. Brian opened the two cans of tomatoes. Jenna cut up the Cilantro and discovered a bug. I thought I had cleaned it well when I first brought it home. I dunked it in water and gave it a through washing for a second time. Jenna chopped up the cilantro and we washed it a third time just in case.

Then I remembered that she said she had not heard of the Beatles. I pulled out my Beatles 1 CD and played it for her. I think she especially liked Hey Jude though I suspect she has heard it before :).

I never know if a recipe is going to turn out well or if I will even like it. I also never know if other people will like it. The first time I had Jicama salad was at my little sisters wedding. I had never heard of Jicama until then. I was willing to try it though I was hesitant. It was so tasty that I just had to make it!

I found these two recipes in my Cooking light cook book. These two recipes are great for a lunch!

Menu:

Chipotle Chicken and Tomato Soup

Orange and Jicama Salad

Baked Tortilla Chips

Chipotle chicken and Tomato Soup

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1 (15.5 ounce) can navy beans, rinsed and drained

1 (14.5 ounce) can no salt added stewed tomatoes

1 (14 ounce) can fat free, less sodium Chicken broth

1 chipotle chile, canned  in adobo sauce finely chopped

2 cups chopped cooked chicken breast

2 TBS extra virgin olive oil

1/2 cup reduced fat sour cream

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large sauce pan ; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Partially mash tomatoes and beans with a potato masher. Stir in chicken; cook 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Remove from heat ; stir in oil. Place 1 1/4 cups soup in each of 4 bowls. Top each serving with 2 tablespoons sour cream and 1 tablespoon cilantro. 4 servings.

Orange and Jicama salad

Combine 2 cups orange sections, 1 cup julienne – cut Jicama, and 1/2 cup vertically sliced red onion in a large bowl. Combine 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice, 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil, 1 tablespoon honey, and 1/4 teaspoon salt; stir with a whisk. Drizzle over salad; toss gently to coat. Sprinkle with 1 tablespoon chopped chives.

Baked tortilla chips

( I did not bake the chips because I was too tired and hungry)

Leave a Reply

