Mozzerella stuffed meatballs


The past few weeks I have been rather lazy compared to what I normally do. My clarinet teacher told me about http://www.allrecipe.com and I checked it out. I found a recipe for Croissants and now understand why mine never come out like bakery’s. The only problem is that it takes eight hours and I needed to make something for dinner. My mother in law gave me the inspiration. She made blue cheese stuffed burgers that were heavenly. A light bulb went off in my head ….stuffed meatballs and that is how I found this recipe.
 
I used beef instead of turkey though I hope to try turkey next time I make these. I did not have basil to make a pesto but I did have parsley. I put the chopped parsley in to the food processor with some extra virgin olive oil and made a parsley mixture.
 
Earlier in the day I took a hard loaf of Italian bread and made as my husband says pulverized fine bread crumbs. I added pizza seasonings and some oregano to give the meatballs some flavor.
 
I only had half the amount of meat and I forgot about that when I added the bread crumbs. In the end it was worth it. It made the meatballs better by having more than was needed. They had a semi crunch texture which complemented the hot melted mozzarella.
 
These were amazing and filling. We put most of the meat in the freezer for another time. I hope that you enjoy this recipe whether you make it with my changes or if you make it with no changes.
 
Changes I made:
Halved the recipe
Beef instead of Turkey
Used 1 full cup of bread crumbs
Added Pizza seasonings
Added oregano
Used a mixture of Parsley instead of basil
 
Here is the original recipe

Mozzarella-Stuffed Pesto Turkey Meatballs

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds ground turkey
  • 1 cup finely chopped onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup Italian-style bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/4 cup prepared pesto
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 pound fresh mozzarella, cut into small cubes
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 (24 ounce) jars marinara sauce

Directions

  1. Preheat an oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. Place the ground turkey, onion, garlic, egg, bread crumbs, Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, parsley, pesto, milk, salt, and black pepper in a bowl. Mix until evenly blended, then form into 1 3/4-inch meatballs. Make a hole in the meatball with your finger and place a cheese cube in the hole. Seal the meatball around the cheese and place on a nonstick baking sheet. Drizzle the olive oil over the meatballs.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until the meatballs are no longer pink in the center, about 30 minutes. Heat the marinara sauce in a saucepan over low heat. Bring to a simmer, and place the baked meatballs in the marinara sauce for about 2 minutes.
Leave a Reply

