Lasagna Rolls with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce


The picture is what caught my eye in the Cook light cook book. I did have to change it due to my husbands severe allergy to mushrooms. Instead we used mild sausage with a few herbs. It was like having a mini lasagna. They tasted delicious and were very filling which surprised my husband and I.  This is also the first time that a lasagna has come out looking so pretty. It makes me feel more accomplished when the meal looks as good as it tastes! I especially liked the roasted red pepper sauce which I was a little unsure about when I read the title. I recommend using sweet roasted red peppers.  You can cook these in the microwave at high for 5 minutes or you can bake it at 425 degrees for 10 minutes. I used the oven since I was baking some bread sticks. I didn’t see the point of using the microwave if I could just kill two birds with one stone.

The next time I make this I am going to make double and make them in to separate meals that I can freeze and bake later. That would be nice to have some mini lasagnas in the freezer for the nights that we are too tired to cook.

Lasagna Rolls with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Lasagna :

8 uncooked lasagna noodles

4 teaspoons olive oil

1/2 cup finely chopped onion

1 (8- ounce ) package pre-sliced mushrooms * if you are allergic to Mushrooms you can cook up 8 ounces of mild sausage in a skillet with the onion and garlic. Also add some oregano, basil, salt and black pepper.

1 (6 ounce) package fresh baby spinach

3 garlic cloves , minced

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup ricotta cheese

2 Tablespoons minced fresh basil

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper

Sauce:

1 Tablespoon red wine vinegar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

2 garlic cloves

1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained

1 (7 ounce) bottle roasted red bell peppers, undrained

1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper

Remaining Ingredient:

2 Tablespoons minced fresh basil

1. To prepare lasagna , cook noodles according to package. Drain and rinse with cold water and drain again.

2. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add onion , mushrooms, spinach, and 3 garlic cloves; saute 5 minutes or until onion and mushrooms are tender. Remove from heat, and stir in cheese  and next 3 ingredients.

3. To prepare sauce, combine vinegar and next 6 ingredients in a blender; process until smooth.

4. Place cooked noodles on flat surface ; spread 1/4 cup cheese mixture over each noodle. roll up noodles, jelly roll fashion, starting with short side. place rolls, seam sides down, in a shallow 2 quart dish.  Pour 1/4 cup of sauce over each roll. Either microwave for 5 minutes or heat up in the oven for 10 minutes at 425 degrees.

Leave a Reply

