Brian’s 27th Birthday Dinner


My husband and I have birthdays very close together. My husbands birthday was October 24th and my birthday is November 2nd. I made his birthday dinner Sunday, October 23rd 2011. My husband requested Chicken cordon Bleu , whipped garlic mashed potatoes and sweet peas. His cake was an angel food cake with a strawberry sauce, home made whipped topping, with strawberries dipped in white chocolate. I made everything from scratch and started in the morning. I started by making the cake. I had the egg whites in a container and I was waiting for them to come to room temp 68-77 degrees F. Well it was taking too long so I filled the sink with a few inches of luke warm water and placed the container in the water for a few minutes. I had a digital thermometer in the eggs to keep track of the temp. I would take the container out wait a few and then put it back in for a few minutes. You want to heat the eggs gradually to room temperature. If you heat them too quickly you will end up with cooked egg whites which is never good .

The next picture is of the cake batter! I am so glad to have such a great succses with the egg whites! While the recipe says to use a lower setting I checked with my Kenmore booklet and it said to use the setting number 8. Which worked like a charm! The 3rd picture is my digital thermometer, 4th are the strawberries dipped in chocolate *(I ran out of wax paper so I had to make due with a plate 🙂 , 5th picture: The cake..I forgot that my oven cooks faster than the recipes time line… so it was a little darker on the bottom. I took a knife to the outside edge to take off some of the darker spots. 6th/7th picture: is the home made whipped cream: I put the bowl and whisk in the freezer for 15 minutes before I made it. I never knew how easy making whipped cream could be thank you Alton Brown!, 8th picture: Chicken cordon bleu ready to be breaded and baked. The 9th picture is the finished dinner, and the 10th picture is the cake :).

The dinner was amazing! I have never made chicken cordon bleu before and it was a lot easier than I thought it would be. The cake was perfect, spongy and lightly sweet. The sauce and whipped cream were slightly sweet which was what I was going for. The strawberries dipped in white chocolate added a nice touch overall, and I am not going to lie… I LOVE chocolate! I am so happy my husband loved his dinner and cake. I love making things for him. Happy Birthday sweetie.

This recipe was from the food network channel website.

Chicken Cordon Bleu

Recipe courtesy Tyler Florence, 2008

Ingredients

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Lay the chicken breast between 2 pieces of plastic wrap. Using the flat side of a meat mallet, gently pound the chicken to 1/4-inch thickness. Remove the top sheet of plastic and lay 2 slices of prosciutto neatly over the top to cover the breast and sprinkle a quarter of the cheese over the prosciutto. Tuck in the sides of the breast and roll up tight like a jellyroll inside the plastic wrap. Squeeze the log gently to seal and twist both ends tight to form a nice log. Repeat with remaining chicken.

Season the flour with salt and pepper. Mix the bread crumbs with thyme, garlic and kosher salt, pepper, and melted butter. The butter will help the crust brown. Beat together the eggs and season so the flour, the eggs and the crumbs are all seasoned.

Remove the plastic wrap. Lightly dust the chicken with flour, dip in the egg mixture and gently coat in the bread crumbs. Lightly coat a baking pan with olive oil and carefully transfer the roulades onto it. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until browned and cooked through.

Cut into pinwheels and serve on top of Brussels Sprout Hash with Chicken Jus and Cranberry Chutney, if desired.



Leave a Reply

