Pumpkin Spice latte Cupcakes


I am in love with these cup cakes!  The spices used in this recipe remind me of fall and smell amazing. I enjoyed making these cupcakes.  Sometimes I get very stressed baking… I know I know it is supposed to be relaxing…the great thing about this recipe is that I actually enjoyed making it. Yep that is right I had absolutely no full blown panic attacks…okay maybe a tiny hitch of concern when I could not find a place to put the cup cakes but… I stopped… told my self to breath…and then came up with a plan. I did not have succsess with the carmel suace but I am hopeful that next time I will do better.

My husband left to go pick up a part(small engine part) at one point. I continued fixing the batter for the cup cakes. Later on Gizmo started barking I thought well it could be one of many things.. 1. Brian is back, 2. Jenna is here, 3. the dog either saw a leaf blowing around, go figure its fall, and she is going nutts because the leaves wont stay put and or 4. a crazy lunatic has come over and I am going to die similarly to a horror film. I looked outside and there was no one there. She continued to bark and so I looked again and still there was no one. I was sure that my dog was not barking for no reason..okay maybe she was… .so I looked down the stairs and thought what if someone is here but I just didn’t hear them cue psycho music? Well of course what do I do… I say ‘Is anyone there’? butter knife in hand.

Then I thought you know what …what is a butter knife is going to do against someone coming in to my home?? What would I say stand back I have a butter knife!? Which  the scenario reminded me too much of horror films where people ask whose there with some inanimate object in hand and go looking for the person. You know they are the first to die! Of course what do I do… I opened the front door and asked if any one was there and of course my husband walks out of the garage and says ‘what’? Well thank god it was Brian and not a stranger :). So if I find my self at home alone… I will not stand there with a butter knife asking if someone is in my house… I will just get the 22 ,give one verbal warning, give ample time for the intruder to leave , if they do not leave Ill shoot, and then call the sheriff four houses down to come pick the intruder up and haul them to jail.

These cup cakes are amazing. They tasted great and the cream was fluffy and lightly sweet. I can not wait to take them to school tomorrow. I am giving them out to my psy group and a few other people.

Pumpkin batter

Gizmo wants whip cream

mmm Pumpkin Spice cupcakes

Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes

Yield: about 2 dozen cupcakes

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

3 tbsp. espresso powder

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. grated nutmeg

1/8 tsp. ground cloves

1 tsp. salt

1 (15 oz.) can pumpkin puree

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup canola or vegetable oil

4 large eggs

½ cup coffee or espresso, for brushing

For the whipped cream:

2¼ cups heavy cream, chilled

¼ cup confectioners’ sugar

For garnish:

Ground cinnamon

Caramel sauce

Directions:

To make the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 350°F.  Line cupcake pans with paper liners.  In a medium bowl, combine the flour, espresso powder, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and salt.  Stir together and set aside.  In the bowl of an electric mixer, blend together the pumpkin, granulated sugar, brown sugar and oil. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  With the mixture on low speed, add the flour mixture in two additions, mixing just until incorporated.

Fill the cupcake liners about three-quarters full.  Bake until the cupcakes are golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 18-20 minutes.  Transfer the pans to a wire rack and let cool for 10 minutes, then remove the cupcakes from the pans.  While the cupcakes are still warm, brush them two or three times with the coffee or espresso, allowing the first coat to soak in before repeating.  Let cool completely.

To make the frosting, place the heavy cream in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment.  Whip on medium-low speed at first, gradually increasing to high speed.  Blend in the confectioners’ sugar gradually.  Whip until stiff peaks form, being careful not to over-beat.  Use a pastry bag fitted with a decorative tip to frost the cooled cupcakes.  Sprinkle with ground cinnamon and drizzle with caramel sauce.  Store in an airtight container and refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

