Tandoori Chicken


I wanted to cook a delicious meal. Lately, I have been just making the freezer meals. While I like the convenience of the freezer meals, sometimes I just want to cook.  I found this tandoori chicken recipe in my ‘Cooking Light’- the essential dinner tonight cookbook. I had passed this recipe up time and time again. I was a little concerned because it called for yogurt. The last time I cooked with yogurt… well, let’s just say it didn’t come out all that great. After I made the marinade for the chicken, I took it to my husband (aka “quality control”). Here is our conversation:

Me: “Brian, try this.”

Brian: “Okay…” *tries it* “Huh.”

Me: “‘Huh, it tastes good’ or ‘huh, there’s too much salt in the biscuits?'”

Brian: “It’s… unique.”

Background/reference: I made a recipe our first year that called for 1 tablespoon of salt. I thought it was too much but the recipe is never wrong, right? So I went by the recipe exactly. Well, that was way too much salt. When my hubby tried it… mind you, I had already tried said biscuits and knew that they were not that great, but I wanted to know what he thought. He, not wanting to hurt my feelings, told me it was good. The poor guy ate the salty biscuits for a week or so. So now you know why I asked above ‘too much salt in the biscuits.’ 🙂

Anyway, this meal was unique, but in a great way. The chicken was savory and flavorful. I broiled the chicken, since the grill isn’t an option in the winter. The tabbouleh was tart/lemmony and filling.

Tandoori Chicken

3/4 cup coarsely chopped onion

1 teaspoon coarsely chopped peeled fresh ginger

2 garlic cloves, peeled

1/2 cup plain low fat yogurt

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon ground coriander seeds

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

dash of ground nutmeg

4 (4 ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

1. Place onion, ginger, and cloves in a food processor; process until finely chopped. Add yogurt and next 8 ingredients to onion mixture in food processor; pulse 4 times or until blended.

2. Make 3 diagonal cuts 1/4 inch deep across top of each chicken breast half. Combine chicken and yogurt mixture in a large zip top plastic bag. Seal bag and marinate chicken in refrigerator 8 hours or overnight, turning occasionally.

3. Preheat grill or preheat broiler.

4. Remove chicken breast halves from bag; discard marinade. Place chicken on grill rack or broiler pan rack coated with cooking spray; Cook 6 minutes on each side or until done.

Tabbouleh

Soak 1 cup uncooked bulgur in 2 cups boiling water for 20 minutes or until just tender. Combine bulgur with 1 1/2 cups chopped fresh flat leaf parsley, 1 cup chopped tomato and 1/4 cup chopped tomato  (HUH??) , and 1/4 cup chopped green onions in a large bowl. Combine 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper in a small bowl; stir with a whisk. Drizzle dressing over bulgur mixture; toss gently to combine.

Pita Wedges

Cut pita bread in to wedges and toast in oven.

One thought on “Tandoori Chicken”

Leave a Reply

