Old Fashioned Vanilla Ice Cream


I am from Texas …if you hadn’t noticed by the title of my blog. As a Texan growing up I ate a lot of Blue Bell Vanilla ice cream….I love Blue Bell ice cream. I have been so busy lately, but I was finally able to set aside time to make home made ice cream! The  ice cream I made is creamy and tastes great while it is not Blue Bell …it definitely is better than other vanilla ice creams.  I made the ice cream with the Nostalgia Electrics ice cream maker we bought with our Christmas Gift Card. I will not put how to operate the ice cream maker mainly because it is too long to type … you will have to buy one and find out how to make it.

I am so excited that it came out perfect. I even jumped around in a circle when I saw the ice cream had frozen solid! I was only able to churn half of the mixture. It was more of a milkshake mixture which if I was making milkshakes would have been perfect. However, I wanted ice cream that was solid. I put the canister in the freezer… mistake …why, you ask …well then I could not get the ice cream out of said canister so I could churn the other half of the mixture. So, today I thawed the ice cream out and with some help from the hubby we got the ice cream in to a rubber maid container. Tomorrow I will probably churn the other half of the mixture. So, even though it is February I am going to raise a spoon and have some amazing Vanilla ice cream.

Old Fashioned Vanilla Ice Cream

7 cups milk

5 eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cups half and half

2 3/4 cups heavy cream

2 cups granulated sugar

1 1/2 T corn starch

1 1/2 T Vanilla

1/4 t salt

Mix the sugar, corn starch , and salt in a large saucepan over medium heat.

Slowly pour in the milk while stirring constantly. Very slowly add the the beaten eggs and continue to stir. Reduce heat to low and cook until mixture thickens slightly. Slowly add vanilla, half and half  and heavy cream . Pour into a large glass bowl and refrigerate for 2-4 hours or until mixture has chilled. Remove from refrigerator. Pour mixture into the canister and follow directions in the how to operate section. Do not fill the canister more than 2/3 full, as mixture will expand during freezing.

Leave a Reply

