Crumbly Apple Pie and my Father in law’s birthday :)


My father in law’s birthday was March 7th and so to celebrate my husband and I decided to make him dinner and dessert. We already knew he loved shrimp and so it was a no brainer to make. The salad and pasta can be found here.  The salmon Mousse bites can be found here.

The Menu:

Salmon Mousse Bites

Caesar Salad with Creamy Roasted Garlic Dressing and Parmesan Crisp

Penne with Shrimp and Herbed Cream Sauce

Crumbly apple pie

The dinner was spectacular and went off with only one tiny hitch. I burned the first set of Parmesan crisps but, the second set came out perfect! It was wonderful to finally sit down and eat after all that cooking!

The apple pie was amazing and I must admit I think I like a crumble topping a lot more than pie crust. This time around the pie crust came out perfect and I was even able to make a little design for the edge.  I did however forget to take a photo of just one slice by its self. I sent my father in law home with half of the pie. I wish I would have made one for Brian and I because it was amazing! I will definitely have to re-make this again sometime in the summer.

Cute and delectable Salmon Mousse Bites:

Success… yes indeed I was able to pipe the mouse on to the Ritz crackers with ease. The trick? Do not chill the dough!

mmmm I loved this salad it is so simple! We used the toaster oven to roast the garlic. It made more sense than firing up the oven for a few cloves. The little toaster oven and I have become best buds, and the dressing turned out beautifully.

One of my all time favorite pastas! This time I used fresh basil and parsley! Though I think the next time I will use fresh tomatoes as well.

Finally the dessert!

Crumbly Apple Pie

45 min prep, 30 min chilling, 35 min baking

makes 8 servings

Crust

1 cup AP flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup chilled solid vegetable shortening

1/4 cup ice water

Filling

7 Medium Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and very thinly sliced

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

Topping

3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

3/4 cup AP flour

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/3 cup chilled butter, cut into small pieces

1. Place oven rack in lowest position. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

2. To prepare crust, in a medium bowl mix together flour and salt. Using a pastry blender or 2 knives, cut shortening into flour mixture until coarse crumbs form. * I always cut butter in with my fingers because its easier and goes a lot faster.

3. Add water, 1 T at a time, tossing with a fork, until a dough forms. Shape into a disk, wrap in plastic wrap, and chill for 30 minutes.

4. On a floured surface, using a floured rolling pin, roll dough into a 12 inch circle. fit into a 9 inch pie pan. Trim excess dough, leaving a 1 inch overhang; make a decorative edge.

5. To prepare filling, mix together all ingredients. Spoon into crust.

6. To prepare topping, in a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, flour, and nutmeg. Using a pastry blender or 2 knives, cut butter into brown sugar mixture until coarse crumbs form. Sprinkle apples evenly with topping.

7. bake pie until topping is lightly browned and filling is bubbly, 35 min. If pie is over-browning, cover loosely with aluminum foil. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

