The Baking Illustrated Challenge: Buttermilk Biscuits


My first recipe of my amazing challenge! I knew these would be perfect for one of our Saturday family dinners. I was utterly surprised at how light and fluffy these were. I honestly did not expect them to taste as good as they did. This was such a quick recipe to throw together that I had to make another batch of them on Sunday. However the second batch I tossed in to the freezer so that we could have biscuits through out the month with our meals. I will probably say this many times …but I love this book! The level of detail , alternative ways of making each recipe, and pictures make it a bakers dream! My only recommendation is to buy your buttermilk the day you want to use it. I bought butter milk a week before and it went bad with in a week and it wasn’t even open.

The thing that makes these little biscuits heavenly 1. is the use of a scale to measure the flours and 2. the Cake flour. The best advice I can impart to you is to buy a scale and use it.

Note* I am leaving out a majority of the various ways to make it basically you can use a pastry blender or a food processor but I am going to post how to do it by hand

Thought of the day: Your spatulas get stuff on the inside part…don’t believe me… I didn’t think so till I took my spatulas apart. They do indeed come apart and wow there was stuff in there I didn’t even know existed. Now they are all hanging out in a very soapy bowl with water. So the point… take a part your spatulas and give them a good cleaning.

Mine only got slightly brown on top and you can’t even tell with this photo really. I baked them for the max of 12min. The bottoms are nice and brown though 🙂

 

Buttermilk Biscuits

1 cup (5 ounces) unbleached AP flour

1 cup (4 ounces) plain cake flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

8 T cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/4 in cubes

3/4 cup cold buttermilk

1. Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 450 degrees.

2. Place the flours, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and salt in a large bowl. Whisk together.

3. If making by hand use your fingertips to quickly cut int eh butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal with a few slightly larger butter lumps.

4. Stir in the buttermilk with a rubber spatula or fork, until the mixture forms a soft, slightly sticky ball.

5. Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and quickly form into a rough ball. Be careful not to over-mix. Using a sharp knife or dough cutter, divide the dough in quarters and then cut each quarter into thirds. Quickly and gently shape each piece into a rough ball, and place on an un-greased cookie sheet. *trust them do not spray the pan they will come off easily. You can let the biscuits chill in the fridge for a max of 2 hours covered with plastic wrap.

6. Bake until the biscuit tops are light brown, 10-12 min. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

