The Baking Illustrated Challenge: Coconut Macaroons – dipped in Chocolate


I was excited to show my Mother in law and Grandma W my newest cookbook. I mentioned making Macaroons in the future and Grandma said that she loved them. I knew exactly what I wanted to make for the next family Saturday dinner. I went to the store on a mission to find all the ingredients. However, I was having some problems finding one item, cream of cocoanut. I asked a gentleman that worked there and he was awesome. He had found the item before for someone, but could not remember the area it was in. So, he called someone up and found it!! Then we walked to the area and showed me the different types. He wished me good luck and I thanked him. I love Meijers you can always find people to help you and they are super nice.

I honestly have never eaten a macaroon in my life. I was not sure what it would taste like and I was pleasantly surprised. It is soft, chewy, lightly sweet, and the chocolate is smooth.

There are a few things I did differently. First off I used aluminum foil and instead of using a spatula to get the macaroons off I took hold of the foil and peeled them off. Second, once my chocolate was melted I scooped up the chocolate and put a dollop on the bottom of the macaroon and spread it on the base with the back of the spoon. I found these two things made my life a lot easier.

This is one of the recipes off of my Baking Illustrated Challenge. I hope you enjoy these as much as my family and I have.

*I am leaving out some interesting facts that are in the book and stuff. I am only posting the recipe and the alternative recipe.

Coconut Macaroons

If you are unable to find any, *unsweetened desiccated coconut*, use all sweetened flaked or shredded coconut, but reduce the amount of cream of coconut to 1/2 cup, omit the corn syrup, and toss 2 T cake flour into the coconut before adding the liquid ingredients.

1 cup cream of coconut

2 T light corn syrup

4 lg egg whites

2 t vanilla extract

1/2 t salt

3 cups unsweetened shredded coconut

3 cups sweetened flaked or shredded coconut

1. Adjust the oven racks to the upper and lower middle positions and heat the oven to 375 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and lightly spray the parchment with non stick cooking spray.

2. Whisk together the cream of coconut, corns syrup, egg whites, vanilla, and salt in a small bowl; set aside. Combine the unsweetened and sweetened coconut in a large bowl; toss together, breaking up clumps with your fingertips. Pour the liquid ingredients into the coconut and mix with a rubber spatula until evenly moistened.

3. Drop heaping tablespoons of the batter on to the prepared sheets, spacing them about 1 inch apart. Form the cookies into loose haystacks with your fingertips, moistening your hands with water as necessary to prevent sticking. Bake until the cookies are light golden brown, about 15 minutes, rotating the baking sheets front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time.

4. Cool the cookies on the baking sheets until slightly set, about 2 minutes; remove to a wire rack with a wide metal spatula.

You can melt the chocolate (10 ounces) in a double boiler system *note melt 8 ounces of chocolate in double boiler and then remove from pot and heat , stir in remaining chopped chocolate* or in the microwave at intervals.

Leave a Reply

