Makhani Chicken and Roti


I try to post things I have had success with. This meal was a successful /failure it was a success because it tasted really good. However, it was a failure because I messed up one important part.  I definitely want to try this recipe again. Now that I look at the recipe again I do not know if I made a mistake or not . It states to add the strained gravy and bring to a boil. Is the strained gravy the liquid that you strain into a separate pot? If so then I may have not made a mistake! The only thing is the gravy did not thicken up or look like the bright red picture which is why I thought I made a mistake. However, the chicken was so juicy and tender and the sauce was savory! The home made Roti looked like a kid made it but it tasted like my Aunties Roti. I did not have any wheat flour and so I used all AP flour instead which is normal. You use whatever you have on hand and you can add spices or herbs for variety.

I remember my trip to Pakistan when I was in elementary. I went with my mother, sister and brother to go visit our relatives. My father was not able to come because of work. I have 8 aunts and 7 uncles and a lot of cousins. I had never seen families that all lived with each other. It was an experience and while I do like normal toilets, toilet paper, AC, refrigerators, and hot baths it opened my eyes to different life styles. While circumstances have caused me to not be in touch with my Pakistani family I do cherish and love them. I am fond of my childhood memories. Some things that I remember from the trip was trying to teach Yuma how to play hide and seek…and then realizing the only English she understood was Yes and No. Also, I especially loved watching my aunts cook. They are amazing cooks and great at plating /arranging food. One time they created this potato man that had eyes etc. it was so beautiful that I didn’t want to eat it. Everything they made was flavorful and tasty. They could make roti with their hands quickly and round. They did not have counters and the only stove they had was similar to a Kolmen that sat on the ground. With very few equipment they could whip up anything you could think of. Needless to say I tried to make some Roti while I was there. Ill have to admit it looked like a childs attempt but it was fun. I thought it would be interesting to try again. I did not expect my efforts to turn out perfectly round Roti and I did use a rolling pin. However, they were really tasty and my husband asked me to make more the next time. He loves Middle Eastern and Pakistani cooking. We especially love my Grandmother Anwar’s Chicken recipe. Do not confuse Pakistani cooking with Middle Eastern cooking because they are not the same thing. I hope you enjoy the following. The Roti recipe is from my Pakistani cook book, and the Makhani chicken is from my Indian cookbook.

Roti

1/2 c whole wheat flour

1/2 c AP flour

1 T olive oil

1/4 cup , plus T water

pinch of salt

Instructions:

1. Mix together all the ingredients. Knead the dough for 5-10 min and until it is smooth and elastic.

2. Cover the dough with a clean dishtowel and let it stand at room temp. for 30-45 min.

3. Knead the dough. Divide the dough into four balls. On a  lightly floured surface, roll out each ball, making it as thin as possible.

4. Heat a nonstick griddle or pan until it is very hot. Put in the roti. Cook each side for 30 sec or until brown spots form on the bottom. Flip the roti a third time, to get it to rise.

Makes 4

Makhani Chicken

Tandoori chicken

Butter 1/ cup

Coriander leaves, chopped 1 T

Cream 2/3 cup

Garlic paste 3 T

Ginger paste 3 T

Ginger shredded 2 t

Green chillies 5

Paprika 1/2 t

salt to taste

tomatoes chopped 900 Grams

1. Melt half the butter in a pot, stir in the ginger and garlic pastes and cook till the mixture is dry.

2. Add tomatoes and salt and cook till the tomatoes are mashed. Add 2 cups of water and simmer for a few minutes.

3. Strain the gravy through a soup strainer into another pot.

4. Melt the remaining butter in a kadhai, add the shredded ginger and green chillies and saute fora  minute. Add the paprika and wait for the color of the masala to turn a bright red.

5. Add the strained gravy and bring to a boil. Add the tandoori chicken pieces and simmer for 10 minutes till the chicken is tender. Stir in the cream.

*wops a little mess on the bowl 🙂 oh well.

Leave a Reply

