The Baking Illustrated Challenge: Plain bagels with everything topping


When I am on campus I walk past Einstine’s bagels, and I wish I could buy one. I brown bag every day no matter what. Once in a great while I may buy a small snack, but usually I try to save as money as possible. Ive also wanted to make bagels for a few years now. Ever since I made my ‘Baking Illustrated Challenge’ it has given me the push I need to finally make them.

I went to Meijers looking for Malt Barley syrup and I had no luck. So I headed to the Health Hut which is just on my way home. They had exactly what I needed. Personally the malt barley syrup looks like thick molasses but with a different smell.

I did end up par baking 7 of the bagels and then freezing them for later consumption. My husband and I ate 2 bagels this morning and boy were they worth it. We both loved the bagels but we definitely need a bagel cutter.

I did not have garlic or onion flakes so I used onion powder and a clove of garlic.

The Baking Illustrated Challenge update: this is the third recipe I have made off of my list. Woohoo I am on a roll and I look forward to making more delicious creations for you to read. I read my husband my list and he chose the Banana cream pie for the end of the month treat.

Notes: One thing I have learned is that you need to follow baking instructions to the letter. The temperature of the water, butter , eggs all matter.

Plain Bagels – with everything bagel topping

4 cups high gluten flour ( I love King Aurthur Flour )

2 teaspoons salt

1 Tablespoon barley malt syrup

1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast

1 1/4 cups water (at 80 degrees)

3 Tablespoons cornmeal, for dusting the baking sheet

1. Mix the flour, salt, and barley malt in the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with the dough hook. Add the yeast and water; mix at the lowest speed until the dough looks scrappy, like shreds just beginning to come together, about 4 minutes. Increase the speed to medium-low; continue mixing until the dough is cohesive, smooth, and stiff, 8-10 minutes.

2. Turn the dough onto a work surface; divide into 8 portions, about 4 ounces each. Roll the pieces into smooth balls and cover with a towel or plastic wrap to rest for 5 minutes.

3. Form each dough ball into a rope 11 inches long by rolling it under your outstretched palms. Do not taper the ends of the rope. Shape the rope into a circle, overlapping the ends of the rope about 1 1/2 inches. Pinch the overlapped area firmly together, dampening it slightly if the ends won’t stick. Place the ring of dough around your hand at the base of your fingers and, with the overlap under your palm, roll the dough ring several times, applying firm pressure to seal the seam. The dough ring should be roughly the same thickness all the way around. Dust a large baking sheet with the cornmeal, place the dough rings on the sheet, cover tightly with plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight. (12-18 hours).

4. About 20 minutes before baking, remove the dough rings from the refrigerator. Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 450 degrees. Pour water into a large stockpot to a depth of 3 inches and bring the water to a rapid boil.

5. Working 4 at a time, drop the dough rings into the boiling water, stirring and submerging them with a Chinese skimmer or slotted spoon, until very slightly puffed, 30-35 seconds. Remove the dough rings from the water and transfer them to a wire rack, bottom- side down, to drain.

– Dunk the dough rings into a mixture of 2 T each sesame,and poppy seeds and 1 T  each caraway seeds, sea/kosher salt, dehydrated onion flakes, and dehydrated garlic flakes.

6. Transfer the boiled rings, rough -side down, to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake until deep golden brown and crisp, about 14 minutes. Use tongs to transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Parbake- You bake the bagels 85% of the bake time so instead of 14 minutes you will bake them for 12 minutes. Let them cool then wrap them in wax paper and put them in to freezer bags. You will need to bake them for an additional five minutes when you take them out of the freezer.

 

Leave a Reply

