Barbecue Meat Loaf


Cook Book: Cooking Light the essential Dinner tonight cook book by Oxmoor House

Meal: BBQ Meat loaf

Side: Risotto with vegetables

I have never made a meat loaf before. I found this recipe at the back of my Cooking Light Cookbook. I was looking for something I could make with out having to go to the store. I was slightly concerned when I saw the mustard in the recipe. I was also a little iffy since the day before we had BBQ pork strips. However, I am so glad I made this. To be honest I have never eaten BBQ Meat Loaf before! It was sweet, tangy and moist. I made a risotto to go with the meal.

Barbecue Meat Loaf

1 1/2 Lb ground beef, extra lean

1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 T BBQ sauce

1 T prepared mustard

1 1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 t salt

1/2 t freshly ground black pepper

2 large egg whites, lightly beaten

Cooking Spray

1/4 cup plus 1 t BBQ sauce

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Combine first 10 ingredients in a large bowl

3. Shape meat mixture into a 9 by 5 inch loaf on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray . Spread 1/4 cup plus 1 teaspoon barbecue sauce over top of meat loaf. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour or until a thermometer registers 160 degrees. Let stand 10 minutes. cut loaf into 12 slices.

Leave a Reply

