Variation on a make ahead brunch


My husband and I have split up the days for cooking. I will be cooking on Sundays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays. I was trying to think of something to make for breakfast. I flipped through my ‘Cooking Light Cookbook’ and remembered a Make ahead brunch I made last year. Today I made a variation of the brunch.

Make Ahead Brunch

I didn’t make the Mocha coffee because I woke up a little late and the wonderful husband already made coffee. I truly enjoy the Mocha spiced coffee and I highly recommend you make it. I never knew how easy it was to make tasty coffee. Why I mention this is because my first semester of college, for OT pre reqs, I would spend around 4 dollars twice a week on coffee. I took night classes and that was the only way to keep me awake on my 45 minute drive home. This over time became expensive. Something I would like to try to make at some point is making my own syrups for coffee. One day I hope to get a nice coffee maker so I can make all sorts of different types of coffees.

For the Frittatas I substituted mild sausage for the meat, and Mozzarella for the cheese. I used two eggs, 2 tablespoons of butter,  and added enough milk so that it came out to a total of 1 1/4 cup. The milk mixture made the Frittatas creamy and amazing.

We have a lot of blackberry bushes on our land. Last year we collected 2-3 bags of blackberries. They are sweet and not very seedy which I love. For the scones I substituted Blackberries instead of blueberries. Instead of lemon rind I used ground nutmeg. I would have added some nuts like pecans or almonds but I didn’t know that I had run out. They were soft and slightly sweet. I think it would have tasted even better if I had done the sugar egg wash.

This was the a great start to the day. It reminds me that the breakfast is an important meal of the day. I definitely need to eat something in the morning. I tend to have a coffee and go to work. Since I ended up with a lot more scones I will have something I can grab and go. With out further ado here are some photos.

Leave a Reply

