Shrimp Po’boy with Spicy Ketchup


Cook Book: Cooking Light the essential Dinner tonight cook book by Oxmoor House

Meal: Shrimp Po’boy with Spicy Ketchup

Side: Corn salad

Shrimp is one of my favorite fish. I can eat it as a snack or a meal any day of the week. This past week I was searching for meals in my Cooking Light cook book. Every time I go through my Cooking Light cook book I pass this recipe. I do not know how long I have had it tagged, but last week I finally made it. The sandwiches came out really well. The corn salad left something to be desired. The corn and lime in this recipe did not do so well in my opinion. I will have to come up with a citrus dressing that we will enjoy, and that will work with the corn. Until I have come up with a winning corn salad I will not post it. However these sandwiches were awesome and great for the start of summer!

 

Shrimp Po’boy with Spicy Ketchup

3 tablespoons dry breadcrumbs

1/4 t salt

1/4 t black pepper

1 garlic clove, minced

1 T olive oil

1 Lb large shrimp, peeled and deveined

1/4 c ketchup

1 1/2 t fresh lemon juice

1/2 t Worcestershire sauce

1/4 t chili powder

1/4 teaspoon hot sauce

2 (10in) submarine rolls, split

2 cups torn curly leaf lettuce

1/2 cup thinly sliced red onion

1. Preheat broiler.

2. Line a baking sheet with heavy-duty aluminum foil. Combine first 4 ingredients in a medium bowl; stir with a fork. Combine oil and shrimp; toss well. Place half of shrimp in bread crumb mixture; toss well to coat. Place breaded shrimp in a single layer on prepared baking sheet. Repeat procedure with remaining shrimp and bread crumb mixture. Broil 4 minutes or until shrimp are done.

3. Combine ketchup and next 4 ingredients in a small bowl; stir with a whisk.

4. spread 2 T ketchup mixture over cut side of each roll half. Place 1 C lettuce over bottom half of each roll; top with 1/4 c onion. Arrange 1 c shrimp on each sandwich; top with remaining roll halves. Cut sandwiches in half.

Leave a Reply

