Halloween Cookies October 2012


I love making sugar cookies. The smell of almond extract, the soft buttery taste, and all sorts of ways to decorate them. Every time I make these cookies I get better at it. This years Halloween cookies are bats. It has taken me a few days to finish them, because I have been so busy with school and work. I plan on doing the fine detail on Monday night, and finishing this post. I had many bat related thoughts while making these cookies. I was trying to remember the Batman theme song , but I kept singing the chicken dance song *headdesk*. I had to ask my husband to hum it to me a few times before I finally got it. The other thoughts that came to mind were the people I know who have been bitten by a bat. Mr Jones the Orchestra teacher from Mayde Creek High School, and Nikki a great lady from my time at Grand Valley State University. Later on this week I found out Addie from my grad program was attacked by a bat also!

Lastly, I was trying to remember the poem from Alice in Wonderland, and eventually I had to look it up because it was driving me nutty. I think its where the mouse is let out of the tea pot and he floats down to the table with a mini umbrella at the tea party with the mad hatter.

Twinkle, twinkle, little bat!
How I wonder what you’re at!
Up above the world you fly,
Like a tea tray in the sky.
Twinkle, twinkle, little bat!
How I wonder what you’re at!

Apparently I can not upload videos unless I upgrade *headdesk*. I guess I will just have to take a lot of photos tomorrow once the bats are finished. I have three good videos and because they are too big and I do not know how to change their format. Alas, I will have to be content with posting pictures.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

