November – December update: Not getting on facebook for a week, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and a new nephew


This post is going to cover the following: and here is the warning it may be very long

Not getting on facebook for a week

Thanksgiving week

The end of the first semester of grad school, Preparations for Christmas Making treats, Flu and work, Opening presents , and Christmas break in general

Newest Nephew is born!

Spend an entire week with out getting on Facebook in the summer 11/7/12-11/14/12

This was a very difficult thing for me to do. It was so hard to not get on facebook which I think is a tad of a problem. I would rather goof off some days than clean. I am trying to stay away from the lap top more and more. I have made goals to do things such as crochet my newest nephew a baby blanket, return to blogging ;), play clarinet every day, and read for fun. I have also placed my lap top in my practice room with my school books etc. My clarinet and viola, however stay upstairs because the basement is way to cold for them. I was able to get so much done with in the week I stayed off facebook. I still needed to be able to access my email for school and E-learning. So, I could not cut out the internet all together. I was able to get caught up on so many things that I may need to make it a rule that I can only get on facebook at certain times. I am not sure how that will go, but I think it is for the best.

Thanksgiving week

This was not the best week. I missed Thanksgiving dinner because I worked the entire week. I really can not remember this week. I know next year I will not be signing up for extra shifts even though I can get holiday pay. I missed my family so much and I am not willing to sacrifice my time with them over a little bit of money.

The end of the first semester of grad school, Preparations for Christmas Making treats, Flu and work, Opening presents , and Christmas break in general

I finished my first semester of grad school and I ended with a 3.79. I am glad with my grades and thankful to have my first semester done. I am going back to working Friday evening, Saturday, and Sunday from now on. I want to be able to read everything that I am supposed to and prepare well for each exam. My goal is to learn more next semester and do even better.

After grad school was finished I started making my Christmas treats, and everything was going well until I got the flu, and quite possibly some type of sinus infection or cold. I was unable to finish decorating the gingerbread men, and I wasn’t able to do the fine detail on the snow flake sugar cookies. This has further instilled in me the desire to not work during my breaks. I now need a break from my break. I have been working my self to exhaustion, and I still have not done much for my own enjoyment. The money really helps, but in the end I am not happy. I do not get to spend time with family, I haven’t cooked or baked much for my own family, and I haven’t cleaned the house at all. Usually around breaks I get to clean the house from top to bottom. I loved being able to go to Christmas eve, and Christmas dinner at my father in law’s. Seeing my Nephew open presents like a pro was awesome. Even though I felt like I had been run over by a truck I really enjoyed the time with my family. Opening presents with Gizmo was a riot. She was so thrilled with all her presents except for her Christmas sweater. She has not used her new bed much. She seems to have problems with getting in to it because of how fluffy it is. I got a lot of nice things this year. Normally I would take photos of everything but being as sick as I am … I took a general picture of everything on the kitchen counter. With my gift cards I bought a nice sweater dress, black leggings, and my first pair of winter boots.

Gizmo under the tree
Gizmo under the tree
All the presents
Gizmo's new bowls
Gizmo’s new bowls
New tub for food
New tub for food
Our first gingerbread house
Our first gingerbread house
New food processor
New food processor
New blender
New blender
Gizmo and her new toys, sweater and chew toy
Gizmo and her new toys, sweater and chew toy
Gizmo in her new bed
Gizmo in her new bed
New ear muffs
New ear muffs
New ear phones with microphone!
New ear phones with microphone!
New toe socks!! Did you know they come in assorted colors ??
New toe socks!! Did you know they come in assorted colors ??
All of Brian and I's Christmas gifts from the family.
All of Brian and I’s Christmas gifts from the family.

Brian loves his sausage and cheddar gift box, new bathrobe, a large tin of popcorn, and new mug.

I had no idea what to get him. As I went through the store I would see things that made me smile, or laugh. I knew at that moment he would love them. I can not believe it has been yet another year. Every day I am reminded about how much I love my husband.

Avada Hair cut

I got my hair cut at Avada in down town Grand Rapids. I cut off at least 6 inches of hair. While I sometimes miss the length I do not miss the knots and the fuss in having to brush that much hair! Picture0006

Newest Nephew is born!

I am the oldest, next is my sister who is a Lt. in the Air Force , then there is my little brother, and last but not least our step sister who is still in elementary. This is the first grandson for my family and he was born on December 26th 2012 . My little brother and his girl friend welcomed a 6 Ib 12 oz , 19 inch long baby boy named Christoffer. He has olive skin, dark grey/brown eyes, and black hair. I look forward to the pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

