Vegetable Pakora


My step mother made this for me back in high school. I remember standing in the light colored kitchen my mother designed, a little worried when she handed me this fried potato slice. She often made food that was too spicy for my sensitive stomach. As I aged my stomach has become even more sensitive to things which is unfortunate for me, because I do love a variety of foods. I tried and I was so surprised at how great it was. She asked if I wanted more and I said YES!

Ever since then I have looked for Pakistani Cookbooks with very little luck. I found a appetizer cookbook on amazon for my kindle PC for free. I thought well it is free and thus no harm in trying. I tried making these and while they taste good they do not taste like my step mothers. Hers had more flavor and a slight kick to them. I froze most of the batter , and I plan on adding some spices to it next time to see if it makes it taste better. If you try these and find a great combination of spices please message me !

Vegetable Pakora

Cooking Penguin (2012-07-22)

Pakistani Appetizers and Snacks -30 Authentic Pakistani Appetizer Recipes (Kindle Location 418). 168 Publishing. Kindle Edition.

Ingredients:

Besan (Gram Flour) – 2 cups Onion (chopped) –

1 medium Potatoes (peeled and cubed) –

2 medium Fresh coriander (chopped)

2 tbsp Green Chilies (deseeded and chopped)

3 4 Salt – ¾ tsp or as per taste Red chili powder

1 tsp Garam masala powder – 1 tsp Cumin Seeds

½ tsp Salt

¾ tsp or as per taste Red chili powder

1 tsp Garam masala powder

1 tsp Cumin Seeds

½ tsp Baking Soda

½ tsp Water  as required

Cooking Oil  for frying Method:

1.    Sieve besan in a big bowl.

2.    Put all the ingredients except water and oil in besan.

3.    Make a smooth medium soft mixture by adding a little water at a time mixing well after each addition.

4.    Heat oil is a wok. Using a tablespoon drop small amount of mixture in hot oil. Oil should not be too hot otherwise the pakoras will burn from outside and will remain uncooked from inside. 5.    When the pakoras

Cooking Penguin (2012-07-22). Pakistani Appetizers and Snacks – 30 Authentic Pakistani Appetizer Recipes (Kindle Locations 426-431). 168 Publishing. Kindle Edition.

EXIF_JPEG_T422Vegetable Pakoras and Roti

Leave a Reply

