Snow Flake Sugar Cookies


Oh winter wonderland outside my door… you are beautiful to look at. Its like a scene from a painting in my back yard. However, I hate driving in these conditions. Thankfully, I don’t have to be in class till 1030am. This means I do not have to leave until 8am! That will allow the fog to dissipate, and the roads to clear up.

Here are some photos of my backyard.

Earlier in January

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Mid January

EXIF_JPEG_T422

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Yesterday

EXIF_JPEG_T422

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Even though I’ve been feeling awful since Saturday I decided to take a break from my school work on Sunday by decorating the remaining Snow Flake Sugar Cookies.

This is what I had originally planned for my Christmas cookies. I had some trouble with the icing because it has been in the fridge since December. I had to add a little more water than I normally would due to it drying out. Next time I will wait till I am feeling better, because my patience wanes when my health is on the decline.

I loved the blue on white! It gave a pop of color, and gave a great contrast for the tiny pearls. I felt like my cookie was too small to do loops between each line. Thus, I ended up just doing lines. Next time I will experiment more.

My only advice is to make sure the icing is thinned out to the right piping and flooding consistency. Other wise you will get frustrated. When I thin it out exactly to 10 seconds on the flooding it always turns out perfect. When I get frustrated, I’m not feeling well, and I feel pressed for time I tend to forget things. Yesterday, I forgot to put a coupler in the bag before filling it with the blue icing. I double bagged it, but it was more trouble than it was worth. I should have just made up the second bag and squeezed out the icing from the first bag into the second.

So, with out further ado… here are the photos

EXIF_JPEG_T422

EXIF_JPEG_T422

EXIF_JPEG_T422

EXIF_JPEG_T422

EXIF_JPEG_T422

As always these are a tasty treat 🙂 I am really looking forward to designing my Valentines day cookies! I may have to buy more squeeze bottles, bags, and couplers next month. I am thinking about doing four different colors. I have never done more than three colors, and so it will be an interesting endeavor.

Leave a Reply

