Baking as Therapy


I am not sure why but I have been really irritated. Perhaps it is because I have to work the next two days and then I start back at school. I have been enjoying the time off, and the ability to do anything I want. I have been catching up on things around the house.

I decided to make brownies today. I took out all the ingredients for the brownies, and came across a jar of peanut butter. I thought what the heck I might as well. So, I decided to whip up some peanut butter fudge. I used double boiler pot thing instead of doing it in the microwave. I stood over stirring the butter and peanut butter, and it was soothing.

Later on, I plan on making chocolate brownies out of baking illustrated. Unfortunately, I only have two types of chocolate instead of three. I am sure it will turn out well. I haven’t made brownies since high school and when I did they were made out of a box. I am looking forward to chocolate, and making them from scratch. I have been craving a chocolate bar for a long time.

I am glad that I chose to bake. It was therapeutic to do, and both treats will be even better to eat!

Note: I used 7 ounces of semisweet chocolate, since I did not have 2 ounces of unsweetened chocolate

Source: Baking Illustrated

Chewy, Fudgy Triple-Chocolate Brownies

5 ounces semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, chopped

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped

8 T unsalted butter, cut into quarters

3 T cocoa powder

3 large Eggs

1 1/4 cups sugar

2 t vanilla extract

1/2 t salt

1 c unbleached AP flour

1. Adjust an oven rack to the lower-middle position and heat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8 inch square baking pan with nonstick cooking spray. Fold two 16 in pieces of foil or parchment paper lengthwise to measure 8 inches wide. Following the illustration on page 141, fit 1 sheet in the bottom of the greased pan, pushing it into the corners and up the sides of the pan (overhang will help in removal of baked brownies). Fit the second sheet in the pan in the same manner, perpendicular to the first sheet. Spray the sheets with nonstick cooking spray.

2. In a medium heatproof bowl set over a pan of almost simmering water, melt the chocolates and butter, stirring occasionally until smooth. Set aside to cool.

3. Whisk together the eggs, sugar, vanilla, and salt in a medium bowl until combined, about 15 seconds. Whisk the warm chocolate mixture into the egg mixture; then stir in the flour with a wooden spoon until just combined. Pour the mixture into the prepared pan, spread into the corners, and level the surface wtih a rubber spatula. Bake until slightly puffed and a toothpick inserted in teh center comes out with a small amount of stick crumbs clinging to it, 35-40 minutes. Cool on a wire rack to room temperature, about 2 hours. Remove the brownies from the pan using the foil or parchment handles and transfer to a cutting board. Cut into 1 inch squares. (Do not cut brownies until ready to serve; uncut brownies can be wrapped in plastic and refrigerated up to 5 days.)

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Leave a Reply

