Pepperoni Pizza


Almost every person loves pepperoni pizza. I have been putting off making this because anyone can go down to the store and buy a pepperoni pizza. I did end up making and enjoying it. I’ll just be honest its finals week. Okay… so in all reality Wednesday is the case base final oral, Friday is the educational session and reflection, and Monday we have two finals for mental health and therapeutic practice. I hope you are getting the picture… I really don’t have the time. I feel guilty some days for not cooking, blogging, cleaning as much as I used to, and doing crafts/ hobbies. I tell my self that I will do these things, but they never get done…well not all in the same day.  Today, we took Hershall (our new puppy) to the vet. I promise I will write a blog about Hershall later. Once we were home I did the basic chores, and then I took the dogs outside to their play area. I worked in the yard getting the leaves out of my flower bed. I did finish a few things for school, and the best part was watching the dogs play together.

However, lets get back to that pizza. It was great, and we ate it all within a matter of days! I highly recommend this recipe. It is quick and easy to make.

Book/Source: The Baking Illustrated Cook Book

Pepperoni Pizza

1 recipe Pizza dough

Semolina or cornmeal for dusting the pizza peel

Extra-virgin olive oil for brushing on the streched dough

1 1/2 cups quick tomato sauce for pizza

8 ounces pepperoni, peeled and sliced thin

4 ounces mozzarella cheese, shredded (about 1 cup)

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1. Prepare the dough as directed in the Pizza dough recipe. Place a pizza stone on a rack to the lower third of the oven. heat the oven to 500 degrees for at least 30 minutes. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface. Use a chef’s knife or dough scraper to divide the dough into three pieces. Form each piece of dough into a smooth, round ball and cover it with a damp cloth. Let the dough relax for at least 10 minutes but no more 30 minutes.

2. Working with one piece of dough at a time and keeping the others covered, shape the dough as directed in the illustrations on page 138, then transfer it to a pizza peel that has been lightly dusted with semolina.

3. Lightly brush the dough round with olive oil. Spread 1/2 cup of the tomato sauce over the dough round, leaving a 1/2-inch border uncovered. Scatter a third of the pepperoni slices over the sauce.

4. Slide the dough onto the heated stone. Bake the pizza until the crust edges start to brown, 6-12 minutes. Sprinkle with 1/3 cup mozzarella and a third of the Parmesan and continue baking until the cheeses melt, 2-3 minutes more. Remove the pizza from the oven, cut into wedges, and serve immediately. Repeat steps 2,3, and 4 with the remaining two pieces of dough and the remaining toppings.

Notes: You can always wrap the dough in cling wrap and freeze it for latter use in the month or upcoming months.

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Leave a Reply

