Make it vegetarian: Golden Gazpacho


Make it Vegetarian

 Fresh Vegitables

Source: Cooking Light the essential dinner tonight cookbook

Section: Soups

Menu: Golden Gazpacho              Grilled pepper cheese sandwiches

I was having a hard time deciding what to make for dinner. I came across two different recipes in my cooking light cookbook. I started picking vegetarian meals every once in a while. The first of many vegetarian meals that I have made include a bow tie melon pasta and Greek Veggie wraps in the past. I saw this Golden Gazpacho and read through the ingredient list. Over the past few years I have overlooked this recipe due to the picture. I was just not fond of the appearance and textured look. Once I read the ingredient list I felt it was an excellent summer selection. It was wonderful! I loved the textures, tastes, and flavor. I especially loved the crunch of the cucumber. Even though this soup is served cold I enjoyed it (I am not a fan of cold main dishes). The little sandwiches that accompanied this soup were fantastic! I was unsure about them because of the Jalapeno, but they complimented the soup perfectly.

Golden Gazpacho

3 1/2 c chopped seeded yellow tomato

2 c chopped seeded peeled cucumber (woops I didn’t peel it 😉 oh well! )

1 c chopped yellow bell pepper

1/2 c chopped red bell pepper

1/2 c chopped green bell pepper

1/2 c chopped red onion

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 T white wine vinegar

1 T chopped fresh mint

1 T chopped fresh cilantro

1 T honey

2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil

3/4 t salt

1/4 t ground cumin

1. Place first 7 ingredients in a blender or food processor; process until smooth. Add vinegar and remaining ingredients; pulse 5 times or until well combined. Cover and chill at least 1 hour or overnight.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 cup)

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Leave a Reply

