The Baking Illustrated Challenge: Almond fudge macaroons


These were a success! I have never had a macaroon before in my life! I have seen these little delightful cookies all over peoples blogs, for example Annie’s eats. I decided to take a chance and make them. However, I decided to make the recipe that came out of my Baking Illustrated book. It was a lot simpler than the one from Annie’s eats. I imagine hers taste heavenly as well, and perhaps in the future I will make them that way. I made half the batch by rolling them in to balls, and the other half I thinned out and pipped. I like the pipped version more. It was crisp on the outside, and soft on the inside. I have no complaints for this cookie, and I can not wait to make some more and fill them with butter cream or ganache!

Source: Baking Illustrated

Section: Cookies, Brownies, and Bar Cookies

Almond Macaroons

3 cups blanched slivered almonds (measure without packing or shaking the cup)

1 1/2 cups (10 1/2 ounces) sugar

3 large egg whites

1 teaspoon almond extract

1. Adjust the oven racks to the upper and lower-middle positions and heat the oven to 325 degrees. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Place the almonds in a food processor; process 1 minute. Add the sugar; process 15 seconds longer. Add the whites and almond extract; process until the paste wads around the blade. Scrape the sides and bottom of the work bowl with a spatula; process until the mixture turns into a stiff but cohesive, malleable paste (similar in consistency to marzipan or pasta dough), about 5 seconds longer. If the mixture is crumbly or dry, turn the machine back on and add water drop by drop through the feeder tube until the proper consistency is reached.

Notes: (You need a slightly less stiff dough if piping the macaroons) I judged it by if it glided off my spatula and created thick ribbons.

3. Allowing a scant 2 tablespoons of paste for each macaroon, form a dozen cookies on each parchment lined sheet, spacing the cookies 1 1/2 inches apart. You can drop the paste from a spoon or, for a neater look, roll it into 1 inch balls between your palms. (Rinse and dry your hands if they become too sticky.)

4. Bake the macaroons until golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes, rotating the baking sheets front to back and top to bottom half way through the baking time. If over baked, the macaroons will dry out rather quickly when stored. leave the macaroons on papers until completely cooled or they may tear.

Fudge Almond macaroons

Follow the recipe for Almond macaroons, decreasing the almonds to 1 1/2 cups and adding 1 cup dutch processed cocoa and 1/4 teaspoon salt along with the sugar. The macaroons are done when they have cracked lightly across the top.

EXIF_JPEG_T422

EXIF_JPEG_T422

One thought on “The Baking Illustrated Challenge: Almond fudge macaroons”

  1. We have a dessert shop here that has the most amazing macaroons…I tried them because of seeing them all over blogs and I love them. I get them as often as I can…your’s look great!

Leave a Reply

