Make it Vegetarian: Zesty White Bean Burgers


Make it Vegetarian

 Fresh Vegitables

We have been incorporating a vegetarian meal every week. I will be placing those recipes under Make it Vegetarian. It has been a challenge to do that every week, but it has been a rewarding experience. I found this recipe on a few different blogs, but I will put what I did below. I saw it on Veggie By Season by Ashley and thought hmm that sounds great. I was a little worried because I am a meat loving gal. My husband suggested the horseradish sauce and that took the burgers from good to WOW this is GREAT!!! A good thing to do is preheat the oven and prepare the sweet potato fries before you make the burgers and cook them. I tripped the original recipe and froze about twelve burger patties. I did not have slices of pepper jack cheese, so I used the shredded pepper jack cheese. I loved the crunchy out side and soft inside. My husband and I only ate one burger, sweet potato fries and we are stuffed! Try these tasty burgers you will not be disappointed.

Zesty White Bean Burgers

Found on: Veggie By Season

Adapted from: The Sweet Life

Makes: around 16 patties, measured a 1/4 cup
Ingredients:

-1 jar (48 oz) great northern beans, drained
-1 can (4 oz) chopped green chilies, drained
-1/2 of a red onion, minced
-3 cloves of garlic , minced
-3 cups old-fashioned oats
-3 eggs, beaten
-yellow cornmeal , on a plate
-2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
-4 slices Pepper Jack cheese
– hamburger buns
-1 avocado, sliced
– Horseradish sauce
Directions:
1. Place the beans in the bowl of a food processor and pulse until chunky and slightly mashed. Transfer beans to a large bowl and mix with chilies, onions, garlic, oats, and the eggs. Chill until set and easy to handle. Shape mixture into patties and coat each patty with cornmeal.
2. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add patties and cook for 5 minutes. Flip and cook for another 5 minutes until crisp and warmed through. Top patties with cheese, cover, and cook until cheese begins to melt.
3. Spread Horseradish sauce on top pun. Place patties on buns and top with avocado slices.

Serve with: baked sweet potato fries

EXIF_JPEG_T422

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Leave a Reply

