Weekend Menu’s: Sunday Brunch


Basic Information:

Source: Cooking Light the Essential dinner tonight

Section: Weekend Menu’s

Menu:

Poached eggs with white corn polenta

Strawberry Bellinis

Fresh fruit salad with nutmeg cinnamon syrup

Whole grain toast (OH my I forgot to serve this with our meal)

Serves:  4

Page: 375

I just love when I go to write up a recipe weeks later, and I realize I forgot to serve something in the menu. I have to admit I was frazzled while making this meal. We did enjoy this menu, but I had a few snafu’s along the way. First of all, I forgot to make whole-grain toast. I think toast added to this meal would have been a great edition. Second, I forgot to put the lid on the eggs so they would steam on the first round of poached eggs. However, I figured out the problem and fixed it with the second round of eggs. I cooked two eggs at a time on the stovetop. The wonderful thing about mistakes is I will never forget that moment. Hopefully, I will never forget to put the lid on again.

I was a little leery of polenta. I did not know what it was, what it would taste like, and the ultimate question would it be so bad that I would throw the food away? The polenta needed a little salt and pepper to make it a little less bland.

Everything turned out well, and it was a great brunch. I truly enjoyed the salsa more than I thought I would. The fruit salad disappeared in no time flat. Also, use real maple syrup for the fruit salad it makes a world of difference. When I do this again I will do all the prep work for the fruit salad first, then the bellinis, and finally the poached eggs, and toast last. It will make the whole process go a lot smoother and less stressful.

I hope you enjoy this brunch as much as we did.

Poached Eggs with White Corn Polenta

Salsa:

1/3 cup chopped bottled roasted red bell peppers (I chopped up fresh snacking peppers)

1 T chopped fresh basil

1/2 t extra virgin olive oil

1/8 t salt

1 large plumb tomato, seeded and diced (about 1/3 C)

Polenta:

4 c water

1 1/2 c frozen white corn kernals, thawed

1 c white cornmeal or dry polenta

1/2 t salt, divided

3 T grated fresh Parmesan cheese

1 t butter

1/4 t freshly ground black pepper

Eggs:

4 lg eggs

Cooking spray

Remaining ingredient:

2 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

1. To prepare salsa, combine first 5 ingredients. Set aside.

2. To prepare polenta, bring 4 cups water to a boil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add corn, cornmeal, and 1/4 t salt. Cook 2 minutes or until cornmeal comes to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat to low; cook 20 minutes or until thick , stirring frequently. Stir in remaining 1/4 t salt, cheese , butter, and black pepper. Cover and keep warm.

To prepare eggs, white polenta cooks, add water to a large skillet, filling 2/3 full; bring to boil. Reduce heat; simmer. Break 1 egg into each of 4 (6 oz) custard cups coated wtih cooking spray. Place custard cups in simmering water in pan. Cover pan; cook 6 minutes. Remove custard cups from water; carefully remove eggs from custard cups.

4. Spoon about 1 cup polenta onto each of 4 plates; top each serving with about 3 T salsa and 1 poached egg. Sprinkle evenly with bacon.

Strawberry Bellinis

1/4 c sugar

2 T water

3 C hulled strawberries

2 T fresh lemon juice

1 bottle prosecco or other sparkling wine , chilled

1 combine 1/4 sugar and 2 T water in a small saucepan, stirring until sugar dissolves. Bring sugar mixture to a boil over medium high heat. Reomve from heat.

2. Place sugar mixture, strawberries, and juice in a blender; proces until smooth. Pour pureed strawberry mixture through a sieve over a medium bowl, reserving liquid. Discard solids.

3. Place 3 T strawberry mixture into each of 8 champagne flutes. Pour 1/3 c wine into each flute.

Fresh Fruit salad with nutmeg cinnamon syrup

2 C thinly sliced Granny Smith apple (1 lg apple)

2 C thinly sliced ripe pear (1 lg pear)

1 C sliced strawberries

1/2 C orange sections (about 1 orange)

1/2 C sliced banana (about 1 medium banana)

1/4 C fresh lemon juice

1/4 C maple syrup

1/8 t ground nutmeg

1/8 t ground cinnamon

1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl. Drizzle with juice; toss gently.

2. Combine syrup, nutmeg, and cinnamon in a small saucepan. Cook 10 minutes over low heat, stirring occasionally. Spoon syrup mixture over fruit; toss gently. Serve immediately.

EXIF_JPEG_T422EXIF_JPEG_T422EXIF_JPEG_T422

Leave a Reply

