Seven Layer Salad


This salad was originally for the Creamy Stove Top Macaroni and Cheese. We decided to make this with the mini turkey meat loafs instead. We loved the salad. I was a little leary about the kidney beans, since I am not fond of them. However, I enjoyed them with this salad! I was glad I added the green beans, because they needed to be eaten that particular week! I try to use what ever I have on hand before going to the store to buy something. I have found it saves time and money. Bon apatite!

  • Basic Information:

Source: Cooking Light the Essential dinner tonight

Section: Meatless Main dishes/Weeknight meals

Menu:

Seven Layer Salad

Serves:  unknown

Page: 139

Seven Layer Salad

Notes from myself: I used roman heart lettuces. I added fresh green beans, and croutons

Alternative way to prepare: I prepared all the ingredients in separate bowls, and everyone made their own salad!

Ingredients:

  • Layer 6 cups torn iceberg lettuce
  • 1 (15 ounce) can rinsed and drained kidney beans
  • 2 cups diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup diced cucumbers
  • 1 cup julienne cut carrots

Combine the ingredients above in a bowl and set aside.

Combine 1/2 cup fat free sour cream and 1/2 cup light ranch dressing. Spread the dressing over the salad, and top with 1/2 cup pre-shredded reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese; cover and chill.

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Salad sans the dressing

Leave a Reply

