Healing Together


Healing Together
Healing Together

I believe this week is finally catching up to me. I feel exhausted and overwhelmed with everything that still needs to be accomplished. I received the book “Healing Together” from Hearts of Valor, and other resources to help with the per-led support group I am apart of. I am currently in the first chapter. I can only read small portions of this book at a time for my own emotional health. I want it to be a reflective reading and not allow my emotions to control me as I read. This book speaks to me on so many levels.  I even wrote a note, because I was confused about a sentence in the book, and I referenced the DSM IV TR. I believe what they are trying to say is that the symptoms will persist for at least one month, however in the DSM IV there is specific time criteria that has not mentioned in the book yet. There is specific criteria to be considered ASD (Acute Stress Disorder) and PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder). My only advice is to do your own research, explore, critically think about the information that you read, and then make a decision about the information.

It truly is sad that I constantly tell others not to overdo it, and I do not take my own advice. I forget to eat, relax, and generally take care of myself. With that thought I think I will go read on my comfortable couch with my furry little children.

If you know of a woman who is a caregiver to an Ill or injured veteran that needs support please direct them to Heart’s of Valor and contact Sara Boz for a Per-Led Support Group for Women in their area.

Website: http://www.heartsofvalor.org

Criteria:  Wound, Illness, or Injury occurred after Sept. 11, 2001.

One of the following documents needs to be provided:  Form DD214 – must show purple heart or medical retirement; Medical documentation that states diagnosis; VA documentation of injuries/illness; and/or Purple Heart award letter.

I have a tab on my blog called Operation Home Front Hearts of Valor. This section will have more information.

Leave a Reply

