The summer semester !


I have been so busy with the second summer semester! I haven’t been baking or cooking as much as I would have liked. I have been making familiar meals in the meantime.

One thing I have been very proud of is making my Assistive Technology device. I had help from three people to make my clarinet stand. My team consisted of myself, my husband, my father in law, and a journeyman toll and dye /welder. I would not have been able to do this project with out these amazing men!

The goal of this stand is to hold the weight of the clarinet, and allow the player to play without tension. Yes, you can play with a neck strap. However, a neck strap pulls the neck forward, and for people with trigger points in the neck it can cause more harm than good.

Tomorrow we are going to do the finishing touches. I still have to finish cutting, make the block that will hold the bell of the clarinet, stain the wood, and trial the AT device.

The device turned out beautifully! I can not wait to sand some more and do a few more clear coats on it. We also want to redo the felt on the top. One thing I did not think about is the spit getting on the felt (ewwww). Then again…at least its my spit! šŸ™‚

Side note: Please, do not use my photos without my permission.

Update:Ā  Today, I played my clarinet. I made a video so that my classmates could see me when I wasn’t flustered while playing in front of the whole class.Ā  I was able to play for an hour with out pain or numbness! While it was not my best work I was glad to play. In fact, I wanted to play more today, but I knew I could not push my self. I watched a video from ‘Clarinet Mentors’, which can be found on You Tube. I watched the five common mistakes that clarinetists make and took notes. I hope to incorporate her tips in my playing.

Here I am with my device and Yamaha CX pro B flat Clarinet

EXIF_JPEG_T422

I did create a youtube video with me using it for the first time during a practice session. However, it is a private video šŸ™‚ Perhaps, as I get better I may record my self every day to see the improvement over time, and then open the videos to the public.

Tomorrow, I will be studying and baking up a storm. On Thursday we have our final in AT and the 5k!

Live Laugh Love 5K Walk/Run presented by WMU GR SOTA

https://www.facebook.com/LiveLaughLove5kbyWMUGRSOTA

 

Leave a Reply

