Pasta, Salad, and Podcasts oh my


I was the unfortunate victim of an intestinal bug that has been going around last week. After battling the bug I became motivated to clean my house which hasn’t happened in a while. I was able to reorganize my pantry, clean my kitchen, and living room. I have been getting a lot done despite feeling tired.

Today, I was able to get the taxes done, my fafsa filled out and filed, grocery shopping, dishes washed, and the laundry folded. *takes a bow*

I have been inspired to cook tonight as well, shocker right?! I have lacked inspiration and motivation for a long while. I plan on making a pasta, and preparing a salad, and EGADS a bread from the bakery!

Alfredo Pasta with Shrimp

Spinach Salad with mushrooms and peppers

Rosemary Foccia and olive loaf from the Meijer Bakery

All that is missing is a glass of wine to drink. I should have thought of that prior to leaving the grocery store. I guess I will have to be entertained by the podcast I was introduced to by my best friend in the whole wide world Mara. What is this podcast you say? Kevin and Ursala Eat Cheap! I am sitting here preparing my blog prior to cooking the food, which is a first for me, and I can not help but laugh at this couple!

I am looking forward to cooking dinner and posting some great pictures!

I have tried many different recipes for fettuccine Alfredo. An Alfredo sauce is basically cream, butter, and Parmesan. I decided to try my own hand at making an Alfredo sauce without a recipe, and solely on experience. It turned out great! I did have to add some more salt and pepper at the end, but every recipe is a work in progress.

Pasta

Fill pot with water, salt, and bring to boil. Add fettuccine and cook till a-ldenta (see package). Drain pasta in colander and set aside.

Shrimp

4 cloves of garlic

1 T butter

Splash of olive oil

Mince garlic. Heat olive oil and add minced garlic until fragrent. Add shrimp and keep on low /medium low. Cook shrimp 2-3 min on each side until cooked. Do not over cook or else the shrimp will become rubbery. Set shrimp aside on paper towels to drain.

Basic Alfredo sauce

1 cup heavy cream

5 ounces shredded Parmesan

Salt and Pepper

Splash of lemon juice

5 T of unsalted butter

Add cream to the skillet you cooked the shrimp in. Add butter and let it melt on low. Once melted sprinkle Parmesan 1 ounce at a time, stir occasionally until melted, and repeat until all Parmesan is incorporated.

Add shrimp in and fettuccine, and heat for 2-3 minutes.

IMG_0113[1] IMG_0116[1] IMG_0119[1]

While the water was boiling I prepped my ingredients for my salad. I cut up mini peppers, two mini mushrooms, and one mini cucumber. I tossed all my ingredients with spinach leaves, and then continued cooking my pasta.
I bought a loaf of Rustic Foccacia 3 cheese and olive. It was different but good. IMG_0118[1]

 

One thought on “Pasta, Salad, and Podcasts oh my”

  1. Looks delicious!! And I’m glad you like their podcast. It’s been going for more than two years now (almost three?) and thankfully shows no signs of stopping! I do feel bad for their digestive systems, though. *laugh*

Leave a Reply

