Everything but the kitchen sink meatballs and pasta


Everything but the kitchen sink meatballs and pasta


 

I was inspired by my best friend Mara, and her clean out the fridge soup. She takes left overs and re-purposes into a new soup. I wanted to make meatballs and this was a great opportunity to make a version of the clean out the fridge,  but in meatball and pasta form. Brian has been doing great health wise, and that has motivated me to try to make healthier lunches and dinners. I was in a slump due to being so busy and we were eating a lot of boxed and processed foods. These meatballs were pretty good. I think the next time we make it we will add more spices to give it that wow factor.

Everything but the kitchen sink meatballs and pasta

Ingredients:

We used whole grain pasta by Barilla : Cook according to pasta box

Sauce: two opened jars of sauce in my fridge Prego or something like that (I haven’t perfected my own pasta sauce yet and until I do I will not be making/ canning large quantities)

Ground beef (thawed)

1 egg (you can beat it or just break it into the beef and mix)

sweet bell peppers diced

1 shallot diced

2 garlic cloves minced

bread crumbs (enough to make it bind)

worchestershire sauce (as much as you would like)

black pepper (use at your discretion)

basil (I just use the cap to measure)

Mix all the ingredients. Pour pasta sauce in pot with cooked pasta and heat while you form and cook the meatballs. Meatballs should reach an internal temperature of 165.

IMG_0624

 

Leave a Reply

