Black Bean Burgers and Corn Salad


Black Bean Burgers and Corn Salad


I went to the grocery store last week inspired to make black bean burgers because of an Irish pub in Muskegon  and their tasty black bean burger sliders. Mine did not turn out the same as the pub, however it was HEAVENLY! I was looking for Fennel and ended up picking up something that I thought was a Fennel. When I got home and searched the name on the plant it was actually a German Turnip. *headdeask* I used it despite buying the wrong thing.

I was also inspired to utilize my left overs to make a tasty corn salad based off of my Best friend Mara :). We also made some sweet potato fries.

Dessert will be angle food cake with strawberries dipped in white chocolate and whip cream.

P.S. I just remembered the spices I added to my burgers. I was talking with my best gal pal and woke up this morning thinking of her … and a light bulb went ding! (Cumin, and Cayenne pepper)

Black Bean Burgers

Pretzel buns toasted in olive oil and butter

2 cans of black beans drained, rinsed, and mashed set aside

1 lg German Turnip cut into chunks

a hand full of sweet peppers diced

1/2 an onion diced or a shallot

Green onions diced

Bread crumbs

1 egg beaten

Black pepper and salt

red pepper flakes a few shakes

Herbs ( I forgot what I put in it) I am going to assume basil)

Spices (Cumin, and Cayenne pepper)

Place the turnip chunks, diced peppers, diced onions, and process until ground. Mix with the mashed black beans. Form into patties, coat with bread crumbs, and freeze excess that you do not need to cook.

Cook in olive oil and butter until it reaches 140-160.

Make burgers with mayo and lettuces.

IMG_0691[1]

Corn Salad …. inspired by left overs

Left over corn cut off the cop

Two halves of left over tomatoes diced into chunks

1/2 left over onion diced

3-4 sweet peppers sliced

Olive oil

black pepper, and salt

Fresh basil chopped

Fresh Cilantro chopped

Splash of lemon juice

Mix all of the ingredients together, chill, and serve.

IMG_0686[1]

IMG_0688[1]

IMG_0689[1]

 

Leave a Reply

