Lime-Cilantro Pork Tacos


The snow has been slowly melting, and with the warmer weather I decided to make a spicy flavorful dinner. I was flipping through one of my favorite cook books “Cooking Light the essential dinner tonight cookbook”. I have used this book so much that it is falling apart. I eventually got to the section that is falling apart and I opened it to this recipe. I absolutely love black beans whether it comes in the form of burgers or a side. I was hooked with the very title, but the black bean salad sealed the deal for me. My husband even liked the black bean salad a little which is a miracle because he doesn’t really care for black beans in general. Then again I hate lima beans and he loves them, so to each his own. The majority of the time spent with these two recipes is prep work. If you are tight on time you could pull the meat out a day before and let it thaw and slice it up that night for the next day. Also the salad minus the vinaigrette could be made the night before as well.

Due to the fact that I do not have an OT job yet I have a lot of time on my hands so I find it relaxing to chop and prep. Ive noticed if I keep my hands busy it really helps with the unknown. In the past week I have reorganized my kitchen, reorganized my bathroom, and potted some herbs into pots. I bought basil, cilantro, and parsley at the grocery store. Eventually I will start with seeds, but not this year.

Well back to the recipe at hand. I would like to say that we had left overs, however all that is left is the black bean salad. I am surprised that I made just enough for both of us to eat!

IMG_1388[1] IMG_1389[1] IMG_1391[1]

Lime-Cilantro Pork Tacos

2 t olive oil

1 Lb pork tenderloin, trimmed, and cut into this strips

1/4 t salt

1/8 t ground black pepper

1 1/2 C thinly sliced onion

1 sm jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped

1/2 c chicken broth

1/2 c chopped plum tomato

3 T chopped cliantro

2 1/2 T fresh lime juice

8 flour tortillas (we use the 8 inch but 6 inch would be fine as well)

1 heat oil in skillet over med-high heat. Sprinkle pork with salt and pepper. Add pork to pan, and saute 4 min until browned. Remove pork and place in bowl. Add onion and jalapeno to pan; saute 5 min or until tender. Add broth; reduce heat, and simmer 1 min, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Stir in tomato; simmer 2 min.

2 return pork and accumulated juices to pan. Stir in cilantro and lime juice; cook 1 min or until pork is done.

3 heat tortillas according to package. Spoon 1/2 c pork mixture into each tortilla, and roll up. Serve with lime wedges if desired.

Black bean salad with bell peppers and onions

Combine the following; 1 (15 oz can) rinsed and drained black beans, 1 cup chopped red bell pepper, 1/2 cup chopped red onion, 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley, 1 1/2 T red wine vinegar, 1 T olive oil, 1/4 t black pepper, 1/8 t salt, and 1 minced garlic clove. Serve at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

