The Baking Illustrated Challenge: Banana Cream Pie


The Baking Illustrated Challenge : Banana Cream Pie

image

I have been waiting years to make this recipe. I understand why I kept putting off making this recipe due to its multiple recipes, and various steps. For this recpie in the cook book you will use the basic pie dough recpie but with a variation of gram cracker crumbs, and the Vanilla cream pie recipe with the variation with bananas. I think I filped between 2 to 3 sections in the cook book which was frustrating. 

However, this pie was worth all the frustration of rolling and re rolling of the pie crust when I realized I was supposed to add up to a 1/2 cup of gram cracker crumbs.

The next time I make this or any other cream pie out of this book I am going to make the pie dough a few nights before, and assemble the pie the night prior to when I need it.

I loved decorating the top with swirls rather than just spreading the whipped cream on top. 

Vanilla Cream Pie
Cream filling
1/2 C plus 2 T sugar
1/4 C cornstarch
1/8 t salt
5 egg yolks, lightly beaten
2 C whole milk
1/2 C evaporated milk
1/2 Vanilla bean , split lengthwise ( IO scrape out the seeds and add it to the custard, that way I only have to take the vanilla bean out)
2 T unsalted butter
1 to 2 t brandy ( I used vanilla extract because I didnt have any brandy)

1 recipe pre baked pie dough coated with gram cracker crumbs page 183, fully baked and cooled completely ( read the entire paragraph when you make the dough with the gramcracker crumbs becuase you will work in 2 T of crumbs then work up to 1/2 C of grahm cracker crumbs into the pie dough)

Whipped Cream Topping
1 C heavy cream, chilled
1 T sugar
1 t Vanilla extract

Filling
Whisk sugar, cornstarch, and salt together in medium saucepan, add yolks, immediately and gradually add milk and evaporated milk. Drop in the scraped vanilla bean seeds and the pod. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently at first progressing to constantly (8 to 10 min). Once it simmers continue to cook for 1 minute, remove from heat, whisk in butter, vanilla extract, and brandy. Remove vanilla bean pod.

Pour filling into shallow pan, put plastic wrap directly on filling surface to prevent a skin from forming, cool unitl warm 20 to 30 min.

Banana Cream Pie
Follow Vanilla Cream Pie spooning half warm filling into baed and cooled pie sheel. Peeel 2 medium bananas and slice over filling, top with remaining filling.

…..
Pour warm filling into pie shell, and once again cover with plastic wrap directly on filling surface. Refrigerate the pie until completely chilled, at least 3 hours.

Topping:
When you are ready to serve, beat cream and sugar in a chilled bowl until soft peaks form; and vanilla. Continue to beat until barely stiff peaks.

In other news I have been working as an OT as needed in Ludington, and substitute teaching in the meantime.

Instead of throwing away banan peels and egg shells I have been burying them with my roses. That inspired me to get a bucket and put it beneath my sink to throw scraps of vegies and anything else that is compostable. There was only one problem… I dont have an area to compost. I decided to put it over in the sandy area near where we want to start a vegetable garden, and I used old wood from our deck to make a square just to mark out the area. I dug up some dirt and dumped lettus, coffee grounds, apple, pepper scraps etc. I worked it into the dirt. My hope is that between the recycling, and composting, that we will have very little to throw away.

image

SPRING IS HERE!!

image

Leave a Reply

