Raspberry Baked French Toast


I have wanted an Ina garten Cook book forever. I cant remember when I bought this particular cook book,  but I was standing in the Barnes and Noble and a lady next to me stated she loved that particular one. However, she didnt like making a whole roasted chicken just to make chicken stock. I can agree with her because I would hate to waste a whole chicken just to create stock.

I bought the book and have made a few recipes from it. What I enjoy is that everything in the book can be made ahead. I like being able to enjoy get togethers without being tethtered to the kitchen.

I found this recipe and new I had to make it. I  went about making my list of needed items, and decided to find Challah bread at the store. I searched with my husband to only find 1 small package of Challah rolls…not the traditional Challah.
So, we left with only the ingredients and no bread. I came home and with out reservation set about to make Challah from scratch. I was determined to make this recipe. After two days of prep, a scraped knuckle from zesting oranges, and some very tired feet we have an entierly from scratch french toast sitting in the freezer. We will be baking this dish on Thursday and I can hardly wait to taste it!

image

Recipe: Raspberry Baked French Toast
Book: ina garten make it ahead a bearfoot contessa cookbook
By: Ina Garten
Ingredients:
1 T butter room temperature
10 large eggs
2 3/4 C half and half
1/3 C plus 2 T granulated sugar
1/3 C light brown sugar, lightly packed
1 T vanilla extract
1 t grated orange zest , plus extra for serving
1/2 t koshar salt
10 cups 1 inch diced day old challah bread
12 oz fresh raspberries
confectioners sugar, for serving
pure maple syrup, for serving

Directions:
Grease 9×13 x 2 inch pan iwht butter and set aside. In large bowl, whisk eggs, half and half, 1/3 C sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, orange zest, and salt.

Spread half of bread in prepared baking dish. Sprinkle on the raspberries in one layer. Top with the rest of the bread and pour ont he egg mixture, pressing down lightly to moisten the bread. Sprinkle with the remaining 2 T of sugar, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350. Place dish on a sheet pan and bake 60 to 70 minutes, until custard is set and the top is puffed and browned. Check at 45 minutes ; if the top is getting too browned , cover lightly with aluminum foil. Cool for 10 minutes, sprinkle with confectioners sugar, dust with extra orange zest, and serve warm with maple syrup.

Bread: Challah
Book: Baking Illustrated

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

