Half a year…


It has been half a year since I wrote anything on here. Sometimes I wonder if I should shut down this little blog as I have been too busy with life in general. I have been cooking and baking off and on, discovering new crafts such as a kitting board, and spinning yarn. I have also picked up my clarinet again though I highly doubt I will be playing in front of people any time soon. I still have pain in my right arm when I play my clarinet which is very discouraging.

My husband and I have been working on our house and can proudly say after years of blood, sweat, and tears we have finally finished one room in our house!!!

Below are pictures from the past six months from cooking, crafting, and renovations…

In November I made the pumpkin spiced latte cupcakes with vanilla buttercream frosting.

https://scontent.fdet1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14925329_10100355018951701_8091805593226654055_n.jpg?oh=cb5cd0b1002eefdcafdef56e4cdfd32f&oe=5964078A

My new dresser : I am finally not living out of tubs anymore, thanks to my wonderful husband.

My husband and I’s dinner after hunting season

In December

We made our traditional treats for Christmas which took some planning. We had the most fun decorating the house and the new tree.

Image may contain: christmas tree and indoor

No automatic alt text available.

Image may contain: people sitting and indoor

Image may contain: christmas tree

Image may contain: shoes and indoor

Image may contain: indoor and food

Image may contain: food and indoor

Image may contain: dessert and food

Image may contain: dessert, food and indoor

I took a few days off of work after the Holidays to help work on the basement. It has taken us nearly 2 years to be able to finish this basement. We finally finished 99 percent of what we wanted to accomplish in March.

St Patrick’s day cup cakes

During that week I was off, I also made a lot of meals and froze portions to make the coming months easier. The dinners only lasted three months, but it made it easier on the days we didnt feel like cooking.

Before

after

Finished

Crochet

No automatic alt text available.

a fall shawl

Crocheted top

I have been working on this top on and off for an entire year. At times I would become so frustrated I would have to put it aside. I am so glad to have it finished and be able to wear it.

A chunky cowel with wt 6 yarn

Crochet necklace and earings ( I still have to buy the hardwear to finish these)

No automatic alt text available.

Working on a knitting loom

I swore up and down that I would figure this darn thing out! My husband bought me a larger loom and a great book that really helped me understand how to cast on and complete stitches.

Spinning and Yarn

This is the first drop spindle my husband and I made. I have now gotten into spinning my own yarn and dying. I am truly enjoying this craft and can not wait to have my Kromski minstril up and running.

Sheep wool

No automatic alt text available.

My first two skeins of yarn

Before dying

After dying

Spinning blue fiber

Crocheted headband that I made from my spun fiber and then dyed

I will post a photo of the Kromski once it is stained and put together. In the meantime happy crafting and baking!

🙂

Leave a Reply

